Gibson Roll

Colossians 3:15-17

15And let the peace of God rule in your hearts,
to which also ye are called in one body, and be ye thankful.

16Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom,
teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs,
singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.

17And whatsoever ye do in word or deed,
do all in the name of the Lord Jesus,
giving thanks to God the Father by Him.

Today’s tutorial is for the Gibson Roll. There’s a popular hair book out there that has this style called the Gibson Tuck. It’s very pretty and virtually impossible if your hair is longer than shoulder-length. But anything short hair can do, long hair can do better, right? :-) This is a very useful style to have in your arsenal. I love its Edwardian flair, perfect for Anne Shirley. The low profile is good for hats. In the past, I’ve dressed it up with flowers or sparkly pins for weddings, recitals, and other formal events.

But before we get to that, I have some news for you ladies. Some of you may have already heard about . . . him. You see, I’ve found someone. We met online in May, and I’d definitely say it was love at first sight. All of my family and friends from church, homeschool, and otherwise heartily approve. We’ve spending over 2 hours a day together, and it just keeps getting better and better. He is the answer to my heart’s duet.

His name is Schroeder.

In all seriousness, I’m so grateful to the Lord for this piano, my first acoustic.  It’s a Baldwin Hamilton studio, for those that know pianos.  *Sigh*  So that’s what’s been distracting me from writing new tutorials.


1. Twist the sides of your hair and gather the whole thing into a ponytail. Don’t worry is it’s not perfect.


2. Start like you’re going to flip the ponytail, but only pull down a very little length to make a small loop. (Here’s how to flip a ponytail if you don’t know how.)


3. Wrap the length down and around the loop and gently push it back up the middle. You can repeat this step until you run out of hair or leave a little bit for curls like I did.


4. If you have naturally curly hair, just leave the ends out to gracefully fall over the roll. If you don’t, set the ends in sponge curls. More is better!


5. A couple of hours later, undo the curlers. I pinned mine in a couple of places, but you might not need to. This would also be a good time to pin the roll to keep it neat. Just use some bobby pins on the sides to make it look like one continuous roll.


Ta-da!

38 thoughts on “Gibson Roll

  1. Oooh! I love that!! I’ll certainly have to try it!!

    Beautiful piano!!! Congratulations!!! :D

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    Blog: http://donotgrowweary.com/blog/

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. I tried the Gibson tuck, but this works much better! I didn’t have time to curl the ends, so I did a figure eight bun with them and I think it looked pretty good.
    In Christ,
    Hannah

  3. Congratulations on your new Baldwin! I grew up learning on a Baldwin, and now my children are on the same piano. Yesterday, we acquired a piano from a church that relocated to a place with two pianos. Now, that one is being played to death, which is good.

    You’re so funny; you name your musical instrument.

    I should get some curlers because this hairstyle does not look good with flat ends. :D

    • Every thing at my house eventually gets a name. All my sewing stuff is named after characters in “Sense and Sensibility”, and our big red van is named Clifford. :-)

      You can skip the curls, if you want. Sometimes I just tuck the ends in and cover them with a pretty barrette.

      • Ha ha! Big red van is Clifford! I get it. Our homeschool bus is named “The Charlie Daniels” (because my husband is a long-haired country boy).

  4. Thank you so much for posting this!!! My hair isn’t quite so long as yours so it comes out a bit different, but I love how easy and beautiful it looks and have been wearing my hair like that a lot this week. Also, thanks for the 1860’s ball tutorial. I’m going to a ball next weekend and can’t wait to try it!

    Last week my sister was visiting and showed us how to make these fabric flowers. They made me think of you so I thought I’d share the links.
    Here is how to do the flower:

    http://justanotherhangup.blogspot.com/2010/03/freebie-pattern.html

    Here is how we attached it to an alligator clip:

    http://emilys-little-world.blogspot.com/2009/12/handmade-flowers-tutorial-week-day-5.html

    This last site is a little different in making it, but has good pictures of the how-to:

    http://www.simplyvintagegirl.com/blog/index.php/2010/05/29/tutorial-how-to-make-lovely-fabric-flowers/

    We kind of do a mix of all of them. I thought they looked hard at first, but after doing one I saw how easy they are to make and so much fun!

    Blessings,
    ~Melanie

    • Thanks for the links! I really like how the flowers turned out in the first tutorial. I’ll have to try that soon!!

  5. You know… I’ve thought about naming my keyboard… Just haven’t built up the nerve or creativity… :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    Blog: http://donotgrowweary.com/blog/

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  6. Hi! I just recently discovered your blog and I love it! Sadly my hair isn’t *quite* long enough for some of the styles you have on here (it goes to about the middle of my back, is layered, and THICK), but I’m hoping I can find something that’ll work!

    Btw, your hair is gooooorgeous :D

  7. Beautiful hairstyle! It’s similar to one that I made up, only I french twist both sides of my hair. You’re right, it is the perfect hairstyle for wearing hats.

    Congrats on the lovely new piano! Schroeder is quite handsome.

    I haven’t named my piano, but my laptop is named Della (she’s a Dell computer…;), and I talk about her like she’s a person:)

    ~Tasha~

  8. Oh I absolutely love this hairstyle! It is so gorgeous, elegant, and very much like Anne! =D
    Thanks so much for sharing! I’ll have to wait for my hair to grow before I can try it out though, I recently had 13 inches cut off.
    Have a great day and God Bless!
    Sister in Christ,
    Emily

  9. Oooh I love this! My hair is only about to my arm pits but I’ve been wondering how one would do a gibson tuck sort of style on longer hair. The Long Hair Community had a discussion on it a while back. I love the curls on the ends! Your styles are so nice! :)

  10. Hi, Your website is really neat, but my hair is shorter. It is about 4 inches below my shoulders. I am also a civil war reenactor. I really would like to find some way to put my hair up other than a plain bun, do you have any ideas? I have also tried to adapt the Gibson to work for me but I can’t get it to work, I think that would work really well when you have to wear a hat.

  11. THIS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!! You have saved me from a lifetime of dull, lifeless hair. I am so happy you did something Anne of Green Gables inspired! That’s how I got my name! I am so going to try this for my next violin recital, but I do have one question: Can you PLEASE make more tutorials like this one?

  12. Pingback: Theatrical Hair Tips « Rapunzel's Resource

  13. Thank you so much for this blog! I love the way you show the steps. I have one question–my hair doesn’t stay twisted on the sides. Do you have any suggestions for how to get the sides to stay? Thanks and God bless!
    Rachel

  14. Pingback: 2012: Week 5 « bekahcubed

  15. I love this hairstyle. I have long thick hiar, and am always looking for a new way to keep it off my neck during the summer.( I mean besides the usual “cinnamon roll” look that I have perfected.) Thanks for the website- I can’t wait to try some the the styles.

  16. I threw a giant sunflower right where the curls should go… I’m adapting some of these for my shorter hair, so I didn’t really have enough left over to do anything with, haha.

    • Samantha,

      I wrote these instructions as an adaptation of a style designed for short hair! I’ll look around for a tutorual for that version. :)

Leave a Reply

