Bandana Curls or Rag Curls for Long Hair

Isaiah 41:10, 13

10“Fear thou not, for I am with thee; be not dismayed, for I am thy God.
I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee;
Yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of My righteousness.
13For I, the LORD thy God, will hold thy right hand,
Saying unto thee, ‘Fear not; I will help thee.'”

I love these verses so much I have them framed in my room. It is such a comfort to know that God is my Father, and He’s always with us and ready to help if we would only ask Him.

I have finally come up with a way to rag curls for really long hair!!! I’m super excited about this one; I think you all will really like it.

1. Part your hair the way you want it to be when you’re done and section your hair. I’ve experimented with two or three sections, but you might need more if your hair is very long or thick.


2. Just like for bandana waves, roll/fold the bandanas like a sausage, not point-to-point. Loosely tie the bandana around a section so that one tail is much longer than the other.


3. Dampen the section and wrap it around the longer tail of the bandana.


4. Bring the end up to one side.


5. Tuck the long end into the loop of the knot. To tighten it, pull on what started out as the shorter end. If it looks like you folded everything in half, tuck the end in from the other side. If you have problems with your curls coming undone and unwinding, tuck the ends of your hair in the knot.


6. The next day, undo the knots and let the hair out of the bandanas.


7. Split the curls as desired.


If this happens to you,


Just wrap the offending curl around your finger and gently pull it off.


Here’s what the curls looked like after I had played with them a little bit more.

Once I had the knot-dampen-wrap-tuck thing down, I found I could set my hair for the night in less than 10 minutes. I did my hair like this for church on Sunday, and I still has some curl on Wednesday. :D

Have a Fabulous Friday!!

Update: click here for the video version.

38 thoughts on “Bandana Curls or Rag Curls for Long Hair

  1. This is simply wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing your brilliant research=)

    My hair is too long to reach the ends to wrap rag curlers the traditional way – thankfully, I had your wave technique in my repertoire, but sometimes a girl just needs curls;)

    This is so exceedingly clever – thanks again!

    Blessings,
    ~Kellie~

  2. That looks so pretty! I’m really going to have to try this. Wrapping the curls like that really works well, even just for neatening up after wearing them for a while. Thanks so much!

    In Christ, Hannah
    P.S. Your bandana is really cute!

  3. I love it! How comfortable is it to sleep in?

    My hair is curly and I usually get curls like that normally, but not as tame. :D

    I just found your blog and I am having fun reading it. I have waist length hair and I am always looking for new things to do to my hair (and my long haired 5 year old daughters). I am wondering if I could try this with my daughter–her hair is more wavy than curly and she’s wants Mommy’s Hair.

    • I will say this hasn’t been the most comfortable way I’ve set my hair, but it wasn’t that bad. If you know how you sleep, you can put the bandanas where they won’t bother you as much.

  4. I have that same butterfly slide! It’s lovely, isn’t it? I’ve been lurking for a while, and that just made me come out of the woodwork. You have beautiful hair, and really are a wonderful mentor. I can’t thank you enough for the hairstyle ideas and inspiration. I truly hope you continue! Best, Guinevere

  5. Wow!! So pretty! Unfortunatley my hair takes YEARS to grow out, and I’m still recovering from cutting my hair SHORT about 7 years ago. It’s finally starting to reach a few inches below my shoulders. When it’s finally long enough, I’ll have to try this!
    (For now I can just kidnap one of my girlfriends and play with their hair ;P)

  6. Where did you get your flexi8 hair clasp (in the last photo)? Did you pay full price and get it off their website? You’re very talented with your hair . . .

  7. Wow, I absolutely love this!
    I have long, curly hair, but hey! I hate going to bed with wet hair, so maybe I”ll stick it in rags. :)

    Thanks for the tutorial–I’ll be sure to use it on my sister and I. :)

    Becca

  8. THANK YOU so much for this brilliant tutorial. I have long, black hair and it was so difficult trying to curl it. I wanted spirals and tried rag-curling, plastic curlers, but it never worked and took tons of time because my hair was thick! This method so so fast and so easy. I sleep with the rags in my hair and the next day the curls are lovely! Thank you!

  9. I’ve DEFINITELY going to try this tonight!!! I have long, thick hair and have a hard time getting it to curl, but this looks like this should work perfectly :)

    Thank you for all the hard work you put into this!!!

  10. Wow, I will definitely have to try this idea! My hair is fairly long and quite fine, and takes *forever* to put into traditional rags. Since I am involved with English Country Dancing and Civil War reenacting, I’m always looking for ideas for Regency and CW hairstyles, and this tip will definitely expand the possibilities! :) God bless!

    P.S. Do you have any ideas for twists, braids, etc. for attaching a snood/hairnet to?

  11. I love the hair style!!! I LOVE curls!!! Do you think it will work with really thick hair, because I just absolutely LOVE curls, and wish to curl it more often? It would be great if this method worked because it’s super simple!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Love in Christ,
    Grace

  12. I have just sumbled upon your blog. Being a past long hair person (past the waist length which is now just past my shoulders) I looked with interest to the styles you have been making tutorials about. this one about rag curls makes me speak up. I have had rag curls on myself and my daughters for years and years. Mine began in 1960, while my daughters began in the early 1980’s.
    My mother did mine in an entirely different manner. Much easier to sleep on and even wear during the day.
    First we ripped a sheet for our rags. they are extremely long and only 1.5 inches wide, or 2 inches if you want to. Don’t worry about the fraying.

    Next,section wet to damp hair. To start put one end of the rag on the top of your head, if need be use pin or clip, I always had a partner help me.
    Now start wrapping the Hair around the rag while holding the rag straight and tight. Making the hair a smooth coil. when you get to the end of the hair you should not see any rage between the hair. Then take the rest of the rag and fold it up on to the end of the hair and start wrapping back up the hair coil. Covering the hair entirely. when you reach the top tie the two ends together. You will have made a mummy. These are much easier to sleep on since you don’t have a wad of hair in lumps around your head, but rather still the length you can lay over your pillow or down your back.

    Hope that gives you ideas, I look forward to seeing more of your hair designs.
    M

  13. This is fantastic! My hair is just past my knees and although it is a blessing, it also can be hard to find fun things to do. Thanks for the fantastic ideas. I loved your video. Keep up the great work! God Bless.

  14. Your curls look beautiful! My hair is about your length but naturally curly. Although I do have natural curls they do not always want to hold the curl pattern so prettily and sometimes I long for a larger curl pattern. I am not a lover of too much heat on my hair since the texture is fine so I will have to give this method of yours a try. Thank you so much! God bless you for being a blessing to others!

  15. Pingback: Curly Formal Updo « Rapunzel's Resource

  16. Looking forward to trying this! I have very thick straight hair that takes forever to curl! It’ll be great if this works and I can get my hair to curl with only a few minutes of working on it the night before! I just found your website last night and I love it! I was wondering though, what do you use to wash your hair? You mention here that your hair held the curl until Wednesday? You must be able to go several days between washings then. I have to wash my hair every other day – every day if I want it to look nice – or it’s disgusting. I think part of this is that I’m sensitive to the parabens in shampoo and it just never gets my hair really clean. I’ve researched “no shampoo” options and just keep coming up with Indian herbs that I can’t find in my area or baking soda which makes my scalp break into a rash. Any ideas/suggestions on what to use?

    • I have waist length thick but fine straight blonde hair which used to be very greasy toward’s the scalp and I had to wash it nearly every day. I actually forced myself to go to washing it only twice a week with Dr. Bronner’s Castile soap followed by the Dr. Bronner’s Shikakai Rinse and finished with Nature’s Gate Organic conditioner for damaged hair (paraben free) for everything below the shoulder. Afterwards I use Tate’s Miracle Conditioner as a leave in detangler and conditioner to which I add a few drops of organic rosemary essential oil. Also I started feeding my scalp and face more oil, working with the premise that my skin and scalp were overly oily because my skin was dry and my body was overcompensating. I use organic unfiltered extra virgin coconut oil on my face and body and actually am finding that my skin has gotten to a matte appearance rather than being shiny all the time (this took months to accomplish). I feed my scalp and hair an oil blend of 40% castor oil and 60% jojoba oil once a month and wash my hair twice to get it out. Now my hair looks great except for the day before I wash which makes for a perfect braid or bun day. The extra oils are helping my hair grow because it’s not breaking from being overstripped all the time, my scalp is not over producing oils because it is also not being stripped of oils all the time and the coconut has cleared up a lot of my blackheads and sporadic acne. Sometimes I supplement the coconut oil on my skin with jojoba oil because I feel “dry”! Never thought I’d see the day… I know this won’t help everyone, but it’s worked for me and now I have bouncy hair instead of limp greasy hair. Plus…THANK YOU TO THE OWNER OF THIS BLOG FOR THE BANDANA CURLS!!!

  17. Pingback: Video: How to Set Your Hair with Bandanas « Rapunzel's Resource

  18. I tried it last night and it marvellously worked! I’ve alxays dreamed of curls like that and I’m too happy! Thank you for posting and sharing it.
    I will soon try some of your other tutos. They’re all amazing!
    Have a nice Sunday, and thanks again.
    (Hope my english is not too bad)

  19. Hey! I tried this out, and it really does work well; thank you so much! My hair didn’t have the nice ringlets like in your picture way at the top of the page, but it still was wavy, and didn’t straighten out in the first 5 minutes, which is a miracle! Just have to say though…..if there are no bandanas available, use strechy socks, or knee high socks; they work -_-‘

  20. I just did this. I made smaller rag curls on the front part of my hair, but then I got tired so I did the back hair in these kinds of curls. I am excited to see what they look like tomorrow. I will most likely post a picture on my blog, so if you want to see them, come on over.

  21. This is a lovely style, thank you! Does anyone have any tips about brushing it? I’m afraid to disrupt the curls…

  22. OMTL! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! i have waist length hair also that just not stay putt and i’ve tried everything! the only thing that worked was rollers but i lost them XD and u have very lovley hair (:

  23. Pingback: Curling dilemmas

  24. I use rag curls but I start at the top and wind down and wrap back up. My hair is a bit longer than waist length but here’s the thing…has anyone figured out how to wear them other than just pulled back? Rag curls were in style over a hundred years ago and loose hair is (was and should be) considered sexually aggressive (a woman’s hair was seen down ONLY by her husband). If anyone has any ideas on updos with rag curls, post it! My curls will last for 3 days or so, and if you use sugar water, they’ll stay like phone cords, lol

Leave a Reply

