Faux Short Pony Tail

betty-(1)

When I was little, I loved to watch those old musicals from the 1940s and 50s. The costumes were so pretty (wait, that’s my other site), and all the actresses had such cute short hair, and I . . . didn’t. Here’s how to do a short ponytail worthy of a starlet.
betty 2
1. You can start with bandana waves or not, your choice. I did 2 parted like this so I could have a little side-parted section in the front.
betty 3
2. Gather your hair into a very high pony tail. I should be holding this with my right hand!
betty 4
3. The first step is kind of like the french fold, except the loop goes down instead of up. Fold the length down around your thumb and up to the left.
betty 5
4. Twist the loop that is around your thumb counter clockwise and out to the side.
betty 6
5. Twist the loop once more and hold it against your head while you pin. You want to pin the loop as flat as possible. I did three pins along the side, two in the loop near my neck, and a couple of big bobby pins at the top to center the ponytail.
betty-(7)
Here is the finished style from the back. I also put a couple of hairpins in the top to help everything lay right. You can pin flowers in the top; I tied a ribbon around the “base” of the pony tail. Please be careful when you wear this hairdo! My family and I call it “heart attack #2” (tutorial for #1 coming soon!). When I wore it to church, a lot of people thought I had cut my hair.

12 thoughts on “Faux Short Pony Tail

    • Heart Attack #1 is up! You might be able to do that one. Is your hair long enough to do the bandana waves?

      Um, if your hair is short, doesn’t your ponytail already look like this? πŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: Pin Roll Introduction: Rolled Bangs Β« Rapunzel's Resource

  2. Pingback: Pin Curl Bun: The Flower Bun Β« Rapunzel's Resource

  3. Pingback: Sarah’s Request: Kate Beckinsale’s “Emma” « Rapunzel's Resource

  4. That is SUCH a cool style! I’m amazed that your hair stays up with just pins! I might have to invest in some of those big plastic monsters πŸ™‚ .

    I have really long, thick hair (the base of my braid is the size of a grown woman’s fist), so finding good styles that keep it up is hard. Recently I’ve been doing ponies, braids, or just leaving it down. But your site has me inspired πŸ™‚ . I might try a couple of these styles out!

    If I take pictures, where should I send them?

    In Christ,

    Tabitha

  5. Can you make a video? I just don’t get it. I work better with video than with pictures. πŸ™‚
    It looks wonderful, I have tailbone/classic length hair and would like to scare a few people. Also I get hassled alot to cut my hair short just so people can see what I’d look like with short hair.

  6. Absolutely adorable! I’m looking for 40’s styles for my long hair, so this is a great start. Unfortunately my face doesn’t take to pulled-back hair very well (I need a high hairstyle), so I’d have to tweak this a little. so very cute! Thanks!

  7. Hey! I used to have hair that went down below my hips, I just recently had it all chopped off. But I used to use the hairstyle quite frequently because I did not enjoy long hair. Your hair is beautiful, and I thoroughly enjoy your blog. πŸ™‚ Thank you!

  8. I would like to do this ponytail with my hair but … I cannot understand really well πŸ˜₯
    may you create a video versionf or this? it’s really amazing!
    I just love your site ❀

  9. Pingback: MARIANNE DASHWOOD: BEAUTY | ALL THINGS AUSTEN

Leave a Reply

