Luana Braids, Woven Crown Variation

woven crown 8
Fabulously complicated-looking, this crown braid is just a variation of the basic style I’ve been using all week. Because this style is evenly distributed around your head, it is very comfortable and doesn’t cause headaches, like buns can do sometimes.

1. Make Luana braids.

woven crown 1
2. Tie the two braids in a basic overhand knot at the base of your neck, like you were tying a shoe lace.

woven crown 2
3. Weave one of the “long” braids up behind the little short section of braiding and pull it snug.

woven crown 3
4. Pin the “long” where it crosses the section of braid near the top.

woven crown 4
5. Wrap the braid over the top of your head and pin it so that it goes under the little section of braiding. If you have any braid left over, don’t worry about it just yet.

6. Repeat steps 2-5 with the other “long” braid.

woven crown 5
7. Pin the two braids that are at the top of your head together near the part to keep them from slipping.

woven crown 6
8. If you have any braid left, you can weave it over and under the braids that you have already pinned.

woven crown 7
Here is the finished style from another angle. I neglected to, but you might need to pin the braids so that they stay together. You could embellish the style by weaving a ribbon or two through the braids.

6 thoughts on “Luana Braids, Woven Crown Variation

  1. This one is pretty too! I just did the Luana braids, Civil War Variation on my hair this morning (to wear with my 50’s jumper! lol) and it is soo pretty!! I’ll have to try some of the other styles later too! 🙂

    Thanks for posting – I love your site!! 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. I just found your website today and am so glad I did! You have such great ideas for long hairstyles!

    This one would look really neat with a snood on the back of your head and ribbon woven through the braids…

    Keep up the good work!

  3. Pingback: Mini Rope Braids « Rapunzel's Resource

  4. I think I’ll be wearing this one to the Georgia Renaissance Festival this coming Sunday!! You rock so very, very much for putting these tutorials up! I wear the shell bun just about every day!

  5. Hello, I’ma french, and I speach English very bad.
    I do this hairstyle for the new year and it’s a good success.

    You do a good job with the hair style, and I go there when I haven’t got idea. Think you for your blog, and Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

