Basic Bun

basic bun (4)
A bun is any style in which hair is wrapped around a center point. The hair can be twisted, braided, or simply coiled naturally. Most commonly, the hair is twisted. Here is how to do a basic twisted bun, also known as a cinnamon roll bun.

basic bun (1)
1. Gather all the hair you would like to include in your bun in one hand and begin to twist. You can start with your hair in a ponytail first, but I find it hard to hide the hair tie. The twist should fee like you are twisting “away” from the center.

basic bun (2)
2. Once you’ve twisted several inches of hair, coil it around the “base” (the center of where you want your bun to be). Pin this first coil at least at the top to help keep everything neat.

basic bun (3)
3. Keep twisting and wrapping until you run out of hair. Tuck the ends in under the bun. I have about two coils, but this style will still look good if you have more or fewer than that.

basic bun (5)
One basic way to accessorize this style is with a ribbon. I like to tie mine headband-style with the bow at the bottom. This particular ribbon is one of my favorites; it matches the denim skirt I’m wearing. If you are in the market for hair ribbons, I recommend one yard of 5/8″ grosgrain for an everyday look.

11 thoughts on “Basic Bun

  1. That’s pretty!! I’ll have to try pinning to first coil – maybe that will help with some of the messes I get into!! I have also tied a ribbon around where the bow is on the top or side of my head. 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. If I don’t pin the first coil, the middle of my bun “flops” out! I wear ribbon all sorts of ways, too. I have a really long pink one I wear with the ends in a bow over one shoulder. : )

  3. Pingback: Pin Roll Bun 2: Curly Bun « Rapunzel's Resource

  4. Pingback: Emma: Puppies Style « Rapunzel's Resource

  5. Pingback: Emma: Knot Bun with Curls « Rapunzel's Resource

  6. Hello,

    I Love the hairstyles. But I want te ask you something. In April I have an Regency High Tea meeting in regency clothes. But I dont know how to do my hair. My hair is about my shoulders. Do you have an idea what I can do whit my hair.

    Thanks,

    Francine (the Netherlands)

  7. Pingback: Emma: Archery Style « Rapunzel's Resource

  8. Hi,
    That is a great way to do a bun! I have longer than “armpit” length hair and it is super thick, so thank you for posting this because I could never figure out how to do a good bun!
    Sydney from Canada!!!

  9. Pingback: Learn English Vocabulary: 15 Words for Hairstyles | Espresso English

  10. Pingback: ELINOR DASHWOOD: BEAUTY | ALL THINGS AUSTEN

Leave a Reply

