Shell Bun

shell bun (5)
A quick bun, this style looks like one big coil or sea shell.

shell bun (1)
1. Gather hair together. With your left hand, fold the hair over your right thumb (or hand) and back down to the center.

shell bun (2)
2. Twist this loop counterclockwise, pulling slightly and allowing the extra length to slide out to become part of this twist.

shell bun (3)
3. Keep pulling and twisting until the ends reach the base of the bun, about four turns.

shell bun (4)
4. Coil the twist and pin. For a super fast bun, just clip the “loop” with a small clip. You can also tuck the end of the loop in to make a “doughnut” bun.

shell bun (6)
This bun works especially well as a half-up. To make this style, separate a section of hair above the ears. Twist and pin just like a regular shell bun.

11 thoughts on “Shell Bun

  1. I really like the last idea! Beautiful!! Maybe I will try it tomorrow! πŸ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. The girls in my family call the half up “Cinderella” style because that is how Cinderella wears her hair in “The Slipper and the Rose.”

  3. Pingback: Emma: Puppies Style Β« Rapunzel's Resource

  4. Pingback: Emma: Archery Style Β« Rapunzel's Resource

  5. When I saw the Half-Up, Oh that looks just like her hair in Slipper and the Rose – and then I read your comment. So since I have been trying to figure out that style for probably close to a decade – I am quite pleased. πŸ˜‰
    Now if I could just figure out Belle’s hair in Beauty and the Beast. πŸ˜€

  6. The half-up bun looks EXACTLY like how Elizabeth Bennet wears it in Pride & Prejudice (2005 – Keria Knightley) when she meets Mr. Wickam. I was going to request this style, but cruising thru your blog, I found it!! πŸ˜€

    -Alexxus

  7. Hi! I wanted to let you know that I love this bun. It looks amazing and stays in with a single hair stick like few other buns I’ve tried. I put it up really quickly and let the ends escape, so over the course of the day it gets messier and messier, but never threatens to fall out. Thank you!

  8. Thank you for telling us how to get the “doughnut bun” sans Hair-a-Gami. Now I don’t need to buy one to get that even, simple bun!

  9. Pingback: Double Bun Updo: Both Video and Picture Intructions « Rapunzel's Resource

  10. Pingback: A Double Bun Variation « Rapunzel's Resource

  11. Thanks for posting this! πŸ˜€ I’ve been wearing the half-up version of this a couple of times a week lately, it’s so easy.

Leave a Reply

