Curling Basics

I hope all you ladies are having a marvelous Monday! This week’s series will be about curls, specifically pin rolls. I’m working on some tutorials, but for now, here’s good overview of all the different curling methods (except mine!) with their pros and cons.

In case you can’t tell, this is not me. ๐Ÿ™‚


If you can’t view this video, here’s a text summary. She’s specifically talking about how to get a vintage look, but there’s a lot of good information about curling in general, too. I personally don’t use any heat methods on my hair other than hot rollers for a little curl on my ends once in a blue moon.

For those of us with waist-length and beyond hair, curling is a challenge, to say the least! I personally run out of arm before I can reach the end of my hair to roll it for most methods. This next series of tutorials will be how to curl your hair without needing your mom or sister to start the roll three feet from your head. And, as a bonus, the styles while your hair is curling will look pretty enough to wear in public.

8 thoughts on “Curling Basics

  1. LOL I’ve had the same problem wrapping my hair – every time that I do ragcurls my sister has to put them up since my hair is so long! ๐Ÿ™‚

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Thank you so much for this post! That was very insightful to me! I do not have hair that is at waist or lower, but my hair is still quite long (about 8 in. from my waist). I have some sponge rollers that I have wanted to try for some time, and some muslin for the rag curls, so I just might have to give them a try!

    Again, thanks for posting about this, I am really enjoying your hair styles, keep em coming! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,

    Miss. Antoinette K.

  3. Rebekah, do you know of a good rag curl tutorial online? My results still aren’t that great.

    Antoinette, you’re very welcome! Sponge rollers work great; my sister’s hair is shorter than mine, above waist length, and we can get her hair to do “Shirley Temple” ringlets. My favorite method of curling is pin rolls (tutorial coming tomorrow!) because they dry faster and can be worn in public. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Unfortunately I do not … Bethany and I learned partly from some written instructions from a friend and the rest, Mom told us in person. I’m sorry that I could not be more help! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It might be fun to do a tutorial ourselves though … Maybe we should try that!

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  5. I’m ti this website and this video on rollers. Very good information, thank you. A few quick questions.

    1. My hair is stick straight, no body whatsoever, and it’s quite long: below my knees. My hair is also heavy. I cannot curl my hair, a curl drops within an hour or less (wind is worse). Any ideas on how I can curl my hair?

    2. Many vintage updos discuss the direction of curling, such as over or under. I’d like to see a video on direction of curl. I think this is an aspect of curling that’s very important for people to know about, especially if they’re trying out new ideas. This is one of the things you learn in Beauty School.

    Thank you kindly for your reply.

  6. Love all the ideas! My current favorite method to curl my hair is to take two bandanas, rolled corner to corner as you do for bandana waves, then divide my hair in half and roll each half around a bandana before tying the ends together. It’s the same technique as making rag curls, but a lot faster!

Leave a Reply

