Pin Roll Bun 2: Curly Bun

curly bun (7)

This style is a more advanced version of the pin roll bun I showed you on Wednesday. Since each of the rolls are smaller, this technique produces tighter curls. Please read the flower bun instructions before trying this style.

Earlier posts in this series:

Pin Roll Introduction

Basic Pin Roll Bun

curly bun (1)

1. Gather all your hair into a ponytail, but do not pull the hair through the last time producing a small loop. Pin the loop up. I forgot to take a picture of the loop pinned, sorry! You can see it in the next picture.

curly bun (2)

2. The next step is to separate the remaining hair into seven sections. Take a small section and pin it up and out of your way. Divide what is left in half. Divide one half into three sections. In this picture you can see one half over my left shoulder, the small section clipped up, and me holding one of the thirds in my right hand with the other two thirds in the middle.

curly bun (3)

3. Roll those thirds from one side into curls and pin them. I rolled them back/up which is opposite of the flower bun.

curly bun (4)

4. Roll the other side into three rolls, as well. Feel free to go back and adjust any of the curls; I needed to!

curly bun (6)

5. Unclip the small section and roll it up.  Pin the roll in the center to cover the hair tie.

curly bun (7)

Here’s the finished style from the other side.

curly bun (8)

The lovely resulting curls. I have no idea what happened on this shot with the color/lighting! My skin was green before I adjusted it.

curly bun (9)

Here’s another curl recycle. I twisted my hair like I was going to do a regular bun but stopped after one twist and let the curls hang down.

8 thoughts on “Pin Roll Bun 2: Curly Bun

  1. I tried the last bun in my hair today! I LOVE IT! I’m posting pictures of it on my blog right now. I kind of put my own “twist” on it thought. I pulled a little section of my hair in front so it looks like fake bangs, without having to cut my hair!

  2. Wow! That is complicated!! I haven’t done my hair in anything special the last several days because I have been doing so much cleaning. I hope to try some more of your styles next week! 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  3. Natasha, I commented on your blog; looks beautiful!

    Rebekah, It’s not that bad once you get your sections ready to go. Sometimes I cheat and only do 6 (2 on each side, 1 on the bottom, 1 in the middle) so I don’t have to come up with 7 even sections.

    Marian, About product, it depends. My hair sometimes does better with mousse, other times with gel. If I’m wearing the bun for it’s own sake, I will also use some hairspray. If I’m just trying to get curls, I will use water instead of spray with the gel or mousse.

  4. Pingback: Pin Roll Bun 3 « Rapunzel's Resource

  5. I love your hairstyles!!!! Ahhhhhh so 18th century my favorite era!! well besides mideval I would love to see a mideval hair tutaorial, so cool……….

  6. wow, love this as a bun and a a better way to get the curls without much weird bump from the “hard ponytail” used for a regular flower bun. you never cease to amaze me with your styles. thank you sooooooo much for sharing.

  7. Pingback: My 15 Hairstyles | Wholesome Womanhood

Leave a Reply

