Pirates of the Caribbean Style, Part 1

This week, I will be doing two 18th century styles. Later this week, I will do an authentic, historical version, but first, let’s do an “easier,” Hollywood version. Tomorrow, I will be doing a step-by step recreation of this style from Pirates of the Caribbean. Here’s a 360 (ok, 270) view of the style. I think there’s at least 3 versions, but I’ll mention what’s in common.

Pictures from Costumer’s Guide to Movie Costumes.

PotC (1)

PotC (2)
PotC (3)
PotC (4)
PotC (5)

Here’s what I’m seeing–
1. Puffy front with a big forward roll
2. On the left, another forward roll near the top one
3. A reverse roll below that with curls in front
4. On the right, at least one, probably two, reverse rolls
5. Also on the right, a forward roll or big ringlet draped around the side of the right reverse rolls

Do you have a favorite movie hairstyle?

7 thoughts on “Pirates of the Caribbean Style, Part 1

  1. I love some of Bella Wilfer’s hairstyles in “Our Mutual Friend” … Have you seen that movie? Some are overdone and then others are simply lovely! πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to the tutorial! πŸ™‚

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Hmm … I think probably around the mid 1800’s … The original novel was by Charles Dicken’s. Bella is one of the main characters and her hair and clothes are beautiful! πŸ™‚

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  3. I think “Our Mutual Friend” takes place in the 1860s… I agree, Bella’s hairstyles and dresses (most of them, at least) are GORGEOUS!!
    Unfortunately, I absolutely CANNOT find screencaps from the movie anywhere!! I’d love to find some!

  4. I love some of the Star Wars Hairstyles as well as the Narnia ones. πŸ™‚ I’d love to see some how-to’s on some of those.

  5. Rebekah and Melanie, I’ll have to look into “Our Mutual Friend.” The 1860s is my primary era for re-enactments.

    Felicia, I’ve got a couple of Narnia styles in my to-do folder! Now, about Star Wars . . . I’m absolutely certain that those styles are wigs or hairpieces. We may have to go with “inspired by Star Wars.” Do you have anything in particular you like?

    *Note* There are many things in Star Wars that I profoundly disagree with, especially theologically. I would not recommend the movies for general family viewing without parental involvement and discussion.

Leave a Reply

