Pirates of the Caribbean Style, Part 2

swann (12)

This tutorial is for the beautiful hairstyle from the finale of the Prates of the Caribbean. I didn’t have time to wash hairspray out of my hair after I did this style, so I didn’t use any. Please excuse my frizzies.
swann (1)
1. Clip the front/top section of hair with a flat clip. If you want, you could tease (I never tease my hair.) or spray your hair to make it poofy, but I didn’t. Don’t worry about the clip showing; it will be covered.

swann (2)
2. Separate out the left 2/3 of the clipped hair, roll it up, and pin.

swann (3)
Here’s what your first roll should look like.

swann (4)
3. Roll the remaining 1/3 forward and pin.

swann (5)
4. The next step is to pin what will be the ringlets out of the way for now. Pin a top section up and to the right, all the way up by your very first roll. Pin a lower section down and to the left by your neck.

swann (6)
5. Roll anything that remains on the left up. You could set the side ringlet in sponge curls now. I didn’t have time to let mine dry, so I made a fake curl.

swann (7)
6. Separate what remains on the right into two sections. Roll the top section back.

swann (8)
7. Roll the remaining section up. Before you go on to the next step, make sure that all the rolls converge in the middle. If you need to adjust your rolls, that’s ok.

swann (9)
8. The last thing to do is to make the side roll with the remaining section that you separated out. With your fingers close to your head, wrap the section twice around two fingers. Take this roll off . . .

swann (10)
. . . and pin.

swann (11)
9. Wrap what is left twice immediately below the first section and pin.

swann (13)
10. Wrap and pin any remaining hair below the other two sections.

swann (12)
Here’s the finished style from the other side.

9 thoughts on “Pirates of the Caribbean Style, Part 2

  1. Lovely!!

    I tried to do the “Flower Bun” today – but couldn’t get the pin curls … I was in a bit of a hurry, so that probably didn’t help – so I made up my own hairstyle for the day, determined to master the other later! :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Hello!

    I just wanted to let you know how delighted I am to find this site. I simply love all of these creative, versatile hairstyles!

    The mock 1940s ‘do is my favorite. I can’t wait to try it out!:-) I always wanted to be able to do my hair that way, but could never figure out how with my long, thick, straight hair. You have inspired me. =)

    I was also enchanted with your sewing blog – I too enjoy sewing, and found lots of inspiration there;)

    Thank you for sharing your talents with us!

    Blessings,

    ~Kellie~

  3. Rebekah, How close/far from your head are you starting the curls? I do the first part (folding the length around your fingers) 8″-10″ away from my scalp.

    Kellie, Thank you! Let me know how the 1940s ‘do works out. I have some other vintage styles that that work really well on straight hair that I haven’t done tutorials for yet, so stay tuned! And thanks about the sewing. I’m so thankful to God for giving me that ability!

  4. Pingback: Authentic 18th Century Style, Part 2 « Rapunzel's Resource

  5. I would try closer. And I would try dampening each section with a spritz bottle, too.

    I’ve been keeping my hair trimmed to the same length for about two years instead of growing it longer to make the ends thicker. When I had more of a “taper” (also known as breakage), I had to start my rolls even closer to keep them neat.

  6. Pingback: Emma: Frank Engaged « Rapunzel's Resource

  7. THis is an outstanding hair style! IT is exactly what I am looking
    for, something for church very fancy and adorabley cute! I will look
    amazing thank you for the style.

Leave a Reply

