Ribbons, Part 1

Do you ever have one of those days when you don’t want to do anything with your hair? You would just leave it down, but then it would be in your way and get into everything and get dirty. Ribbons are a nice, quick way to get your hair off your face and easily dress up a style. If you wear glasses like I do, it’s much easier to wear a ribbon than a hard headband with the glasses ear pieces. This week’s posts will be discussing hair ribbons of all different types and a variety of styles you can do with them.

About color, don’t be afraid of not matching exactly. With an outfit that is primarily made up of neutrals, I like to wear either a blue ribbon to match my eyes or a green one to contrast with my hair. I also have a collection of basic colors from white to cream, brown, and black that go with anything for a subtle look.

Today’s ribbon is your basic, average ribbon. The ones I am using are 5/8″ wide grosgrain, but you could also use satin. I like my ribbons about a yard long for this width. Here’s how to wear your hair in a ponytail with a ribbon.


1. Gather you hair in a ponytail. If you want, you could use a hair tie, but it isn’t necessary. Center the ribbon over your ponytail.


2. Cross the ends under the ponytail.


3. Tie the ends in an overhand knot. Make sure that the end that is now on the right is going up.


4. Make a loop with the left. Wrap the right end down and around the loop.


5. Wrap the right end around the loop one more time. My index finger is on this new wrap. Slide the new wrap under the first one and to the left so that it becomes the new left loop.


Tighten everything and you’re done!


This is also a nice ribbon for a headband, both with a bun or just with your hair down.

8 thoughts on “Ribbons, Part 1

  1. You know – I never thought about the fact that my glasses will impede the wearing of headbands … that ribbon is cute though! I wore my hair like you have it in the last photo once when my hair was all curly from ragcurls – it was cute! 😀

    So … that’s how you get the ribbon to hold a pony tail without sliding off?? I’ll have to try that soon! It looks so cute and old-fashioned!! 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. How do you keep from catching your hair in the ribbon headband underneath where it’s tied? Especially when you leave your hair down?

    Jordan

  3. Rebekah, Yeah, I’ve only found a couple of headbands that didn’t interfere with my glasses. I don’t even remember where I got them, but the sides curve to the back instead of being straight. And, yes, wrapping the ribbon once first makes it easier to get the knot tight enough.

    Alana, you’re very welcome!

    Jordan, Do you mean while tying it or during wear?

  4. I’ll do more with tying/wearing ribbons headband-style later this week in some other tutorials. I usually don’t have a problem with my hair getting caught, but sometimes I’ll clip my hair up in a really quick french fold. After I’m satisfied with the knot, I’ll let it back down.

  5. I also have the problem of the ribbon geting caught in the hair,especially when I do it as a headband. There are little corkskrew curls all around my hairline and when these get caught it brake them and be pretty painful as well… I found that I must hold them up while tying, but that makes it hard to tie the ribbon.

  6. Ribbons are my go-to styling accessory. I’m more likely to have a ribbon on hand than bobby pins, hair ties, scrunchies, and clips combined. Sometimes my hair is in the way or total frizz-ball (on a good day, it’s about like yours is after bandana waves or curls. On a bad… you can imagine) so I toss it in a quick braid. I loop the ribbon around two or three times and tie it in a tight bow. It stays anywhere from a few hours to all day– and I end up getting compliments in grocery stores on what was otherwise a bad hair day. When my hair IS behaving loose, I’m a big fan of ribbon headbands (often times, the braid ribbon was initially a headband). Adding a ribbon headband or a bow to a style seems to balance it perfectly for my face. And of course, ribbons on pigtail braids are always fun– those need the little clear rubber bands though!

    Also, I have to second your note on color. I dress in all earth tones and muted colors, so a lot of my clothing vaguely coordinates, but I buy ribbon in colors I like, and cut 2 to 4 ribbons, and use them interchangeably with outfits. One reddish outfit goes best with the blue ribbons. The pale aqua seems to go with nearly everything, as does the pale sage green. Even in my engagement photos, I wore the pale aqua with a pale pink dress, with polkadots and a brown sash– nothing else remotely blue, but it worked. It’s just a matter of balancing color intensity and complimenting hues.

    In short– ribbons are amazing!

Leave a Reply

