Rope Braid Introduction


The rope braid is my all-time favorite braid. With only two strands, rope braiding fast and easy. The buns and styles than can be produced with a rope look really cool, too, with that “How did she do that?!” quality. Here’s how to do the basic rope braid.


1. Separate your hair into two sections. Starting with a ponytail is optional.


2. Cross one section over the other.


3. Twist that section you just crossed to the middle with about three turns. If you’re not sure what to do with your hands, hold the section that you aren’t twisting with your thumb, ring and pinky finger. This method leaves your index and middle finger free to hold the section being twisted between turns your you can “re-set” your twisting hand. Clear as mud?

*Note* Most instructions say to twist before you cross, but I find this way easier. Do what is easier for you. 🙂


Here is what you should have now. You can see two fingers holding the twisted section scissor-style and the rest of the hand holding the other.


4. Cross, twist, repeat.


Finished rope. Coming later this week, some really cool styles that incorporate ropes.

20 thoughts on “Rope Braid Introduction

  1. Easy once you have it down! But I can’t do all my hair in a rope with just two strands. It’s just too thick 😦 And I haven’t learned to handle more strands. I love to do this with only part of my hair, though. Can’t wait to see what other styles you do with the rope!

    Jordan

    PS Elizabeth–I got the judges comments from the wool contest and one of them said “great hair!” Thanks for being my personal stylist!! 😉

  2. I’m planning on writing a post on “but my hair is too . . . for this style to work” later this week.

    You’re very welcome! Did your dad get a picture of the back of your head at the contest? I’d love to use it as an example, if you don’t mind!

  3. Elizabeth,

    Thanks for the instructions. Each time I’ve tried to do a rope braid, however, the braid spins out (unravels) as soon as I’ve tied the band at the end. What am I doing wrong? Thanks!

    Kelly in Marseille

    • Kelly, I used to have the exact same problem! Then I read Lauren Conrad’s “Beauty” and finally got it. It’s just as Jordan & Elizabeth say–twist the strands one direction (let’s say to the left) and then cross them the other direction (or right, since you twisted them to the left).

  4. If I may answer your question Kelly, I believe you aren’t twist the correct directions. Notice that Elizabeth twists each strand clockwise and twists the strands together counter-clockwise. This is confusing until you get it, then it’s really easy!

    HTH
    Jordan

  5. Kelly,

    You need to make sure you are twisting both sections one direction and crossing the other. For example, if you decide to cross to the left, you twist to the right. Or vice-versa, it doesn’t matter as long as you are consistent. Also, make sure that you are both sections the same way, not opposite. Did either Jordan’s or my tips help?

    Jordan,

    You answered very precisely with the clockwise and counter-clockwise. 🙂 The reason I didn’t include specific directions is when I’ve tried to teach people how to rope braid on themselves before, they become disoriented and get stuck on determining which way is clockwise. But if that helps some people, good for you! 😉

  6. Pingback: Ropes vs Folded Twists « Rapunzel's Resource

  7. Thank you for posting instructions on how to do this! I’ve wanted to know how to make braids like that for a loooooong time, but I didn’t even know what they were called! I tried this on two of my sisters’ hair today, and the braids turned out nice the very first try! I know I’ll be playing around with different ways to use this braid. Thanks again!
    Amber

  8. Pingback: Emma: Frank Engaged « Rapunzel's Resource

  9. Pingback: Emma: Triple Twist Bun « Rapunzel's Resource

  10. Pingback: Braided Headband « Rapunzel's Resource

  11. Pingback: 1860s Ball Style « Rapunzel's Resource

  12. vos tutoriels sont très intéressants, mais le seraient beaucoup plus si votre site proposait un service de traduction en lien

    • Merci beaucoup! J’ai étudié le français pendant trois années. Actuellement WordPress n’offre pas un service de traduction. Désolé! Employez-vous BabelFish?

  13. Yay! I finally got it! Although my hair isn’t very short( around mid back, but not quite yet) it is really thick, so I only got in 3 links, but I think for a bun i could do two….

  14. Thank you Elizabeth, I’ve had long hair all my life and this is the first time I’ve managed to do anything unusual with it all by my self. Your tutorials are very informative and easy to follow. Thank you again!

    Esmée

    PS Next I’m going to master the French Braid!

  15. This is certainly a very useful tutorial, and I love your blog! So many ideas to try, I can’t wait until my hair is a bit longer (it’s about mid-back length now, but very thick). However, when I tried it, my hair just untwisted immediately. Tips?

  16. Pingback: rope braid up | Hispanic Skin Care

Leave a Reply

