Rope Braid Bun

Happy December, ladies!

One thing I love to do with a rope braid is to coil it in a bun. If you go one way, it makes a loose, loopy look like the bun above. If you go the other way, you get a tighter, woven-looking bun.

And, if you twist the rope as you go around, you get a pretty rosette.

I know some of my lovely readers will have already heard this story, but I thought I’d share it with the rest of you. Monday night is when I have piano lessons, and last night I was making dinner when tragedy struck. *Dun-dun-DUN* As I was shredding some cheese for a casserole, I slipped and accidentally shredded the skin off the side of my thumb. Let’s just say that my previously perfectly prepared pieces were performed with less precision and panache than potentially possible prior to my pathetically painful peripheral perforation. Ok, I’ll end this pedantic parody of a paragraph. πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “Rope Braid Bun

  1. So, soooo pretty!

    And, I love the alliteration!! πŸ˜€ I’ve sliced my finger before – ugh, it does make playing piano difficult!

  2. I love the style!
    Reading your blog has inspired me to grow my hair long again. However, I am so bad at doing my own hair, even with instructions, so it is good I have sisters who are much better at it than I am… πŸ˜‰
    Looking forward to the “Emma” week coming up!! πŸ˜€

  3. Loved the alliteration! I hope your finger heals up soon. I cut my finger the other night while I was peeling pumpkin. And it was sore!!

    ~ Carrie ~

  4. Pingback: Fancy Hair Pins Video Tutorial Link Β« Rapunzel's Resource

  5. Wow, I love this bun. I’ve been growing my hair for some time (it’s now between bra strap length and waist) and I was starting to think about getting it cut, but seeing these beautiful hair styles has inspired me to keep on growing!
    Thank you for sharing these. You have beautiful hair.

  6. What a nice way to do a bun! What type of clips did you use to fasten it in the first and third pictures? They look so pretty in your hair!

  7. Pingback: ELINOR DASHWOOD: BEAUTY | ALL THINGS AUSTEN

Leave a Reply

