Mini Rope Braids

Two mini rope braids clipped together are quick way to do your hair if you run out of time in the morning since it can be done in the car. I keep a non-descript barrette in my purse for just such a situation. For the fairy-tale look, I like to braid/twist below where I want to clip it and let the ends untwist as they will.

One hairstyle I have yet to master is the cascading crown. I’ve tried Dreamweaver’s instructions, but my hair won’t cooperate and ends up in tangles. The style on the right is what I do instead. Here’s how to make your own rope braid faux crown.

The basic concept is similar to my woven crown tutorial.

1. Do a rope braid on each side of your head all the way down.


2. Tie the ends in a knot.


3. Keep wrapping/knotting with each end until you reach where the braids started. I did 2 or 3 wraps on each side. For something a bit more modern, you could stop now, but for the full crown look . . .


4. Repeat the knotting/wrapping over the top of your head.


Finished style.

Another way you can do this style . . .

1. Wrap one braid around your head and clip for now.


2. Wrap/knot/twist the other braid up and over the first one.


3. Keep going down and around the back.


This variation requires more pins than the other, but the top and the back are a more consistent width.

6 thoughts on “Mini Rope Braids

  1. Now I must master rope braiding … I love the first style pictured! I did a rope braid bun yesterday – it wasn’t perfect but it was a try … I think I’ll be trying rope braiding again tomorrow! 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Hi, My hair is really,really wavy and whenever i try to do the rope braid the waves make it look very kinky :-/ How do you make your wavy hair rope braid that good?Maybe mine is just to stuborn….

Leave a Reply

