Ropes vs Folded Twists


For twisted styles, rope braids and folded twists are interchangeable. So interchangeable, in fact, that I have them as the same category. If one is easier for you or works better, go ahead and switch techniques for styles that you may want to try. During Emma week, I will use both, but the method doesn’t matter as much as the finished look.  Same destination, different ways to get there.   Here’s a quick comparison-contrast of the two techniques.

Folded Twists

  • Shorter
  • Wider
  • No “tassel”
  • Best for longer, thinner hair

Rope Braids

  • Longer
  • Thinner
  • Has a “tassel”
  • Better for thicker, shorter hair

Personally, I prefer to wear a folded twist if I want to wear my hair “down” and  ropes for updos.  Which method do you prefer?

P.S.  Emma week starts on Monday!

6 thoughts on “Ropes vs Folded Twists

  1. Emma week starts in just 13 minutes?? (Yes, I’m up really late! :p) Hurray! I can hardly wait to see the posts! 😀

    I like the ropes for putting my hair up but I have so many little shorter hairs, that whichever I do, it always gets frizzy and messy after a short while … I usually do my hair up anyway though. And water and hairspray help keep things tidier. 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

    • Dear Rebekah,

      I use coconut oil or almond oil in my hair, instead of gel, to keep the flyaways tamed. I only need a little bit, dipping my fingertip into the jelly jar where I store it. If I dipped too much, I smooth into my ends as conditioner. Be careful with oils, even a little overboard, and it’s ~way~ overboard!

      • Thank you for the advice. I’ll have to try that! 🙂

        To the KING be all the glory!
        Rebekah

        Blog: http://donotgrowweary.com/blog/

        “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Pingback: Emma: Triple Twist Bun « Rapunzel's Resource

Leave a Reply

