Emma: Proposal Hairstyle

Marvelous Monday, Ladies!

Today is the first post of a special series about Miramax’s “Emma” with Gwyneth Paltrow. During this week I will doing tutorials for six different styles form the movie. Today we will be doing the proposal style. This basic style is repeated several times in “Emma,” including the painting scene below.

While not necessarily historically accurate, the lovely updos from this movie would be very nice for special occasions and Christmas events. You ladies who have been following my blog for the last couple months will already have all the skills you need to do the styles for Emma Week. If you are new, don’t worry! I’ll be including some links to previous tutorials each day to help you get up to speed. You will need to know how to do pin rolls and flip a ponytail for the proposal style.



First, here are some more images from the movie.



Each version of this style is slightly different (and the proposal version changes almost every cut!). My version of this style is primarily based on the painting version.


1. Start with a high ponytail, either with or without a center part.


2. “Flip” your ponytail, but instead of pulling your hair down through the top, pull it up from underneath. This will make the regular twists, but upside down.


3. Loosely loop your hair around again. This step is because my hair is much longer than Gwyneth Paltrow’s, and I needed to hide some length. If your hair is shorter than mine, you can skip this step and/or step 2, if you want.


4. Divide your ends into five sections and make five pin rolls.


You’ll need two rolls on one side . . .


. . . Two on the other (I had only done one in this picture.) . . .


. . . And one in the middle.

What’s your favorite version of Emma? And which movie would you like to see next on Rapunzel’s Resource?

15 thoughts on “Emma: Proposal Hairstyle

  1. Where’s the personal stylist when she’s needed? I have a three day Christmas performance this weekend, complete with costume changes (they must be pulled over the head too). I hadn’t a clue what to do with my hair then I check “the blog”. Tada! Even if this style won’t work, I’m sure there’ll be something this week! Now, off to try this one out…

  2. Hair fairies are usually quite limited in their travel options. πŸ˜‰

    For theatrical styles, I generally try not to have any hair down. Costume changes wreak havoc on curls! What era are you going for? Friday’s tutorial will be really cool and very pretty for your hair.

  3. Modern. The one costume is 1st century and it’ll be covered by a head covering. I wish I could leave my hair down b/c the neckline of the one dress is… nothing I would ever wear if it wasn’t forced. It’s very wide and semi-low. I feel rather exposed without hair hanging around my shoulders. πŸ˜›

  4. YAY! I have been looking forward to the “Emma” tutorials!! πŸ˜€ Looking forward to the ones to come! πŸ™‚

    My favorite version of “Emma” is probably the newest, with Romola Garai, but I love the Mirimax version as well! πŸ˜€

  5. Jordan, Will the director let you wear a shawl?

    Melanie, I haven’t seen the new “Emma” yet! I’m waiting until it is on PBS this January.

  6. Pretty!

    The new Emma is pretty good, in my opinion. πŸ™‚ I think that you will enjoy it.

    I would like to see some of the hairstyles from Bleak House sometime – if you have seen that movie. I love Ada’s hair! πŸ™‚

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  7. I have really enjoyed reading your blog! I am looking forward to seeing the rest of the “Emma” styles!

    My favorite version of “Emma” (I’ve seen three!) is the Romola Garai. But the Gwyneth Paltrow is a very close second! As far as other movies I love Anne’s hair in the Amanda Root “Persuasion”.

  8. I’m so happy to see you are doing this! I would love to try these styles out, and will definitely do so! I mentioned your doing this week over at my blog, and put a link here, I hope that is alright.

    Looking forward to the rest of the hairstyles!

    Aurora

  9. Ah yes! I love Ann’s hairstyles towards the end in “Persuasion”! In the beginning, they seem kind of drab (trying to get her to look worn, pale and drawn I think) but the others are quite pretty! That would be a good one to do, Elizabeth! πŸ™‚

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  10. This is so lovely!
    I will watch your blog very closely from now on.
    You have wonderful hair, dearest!
    Thank you for your tuts!
    Greetings from Berlin, Germany!

  11. Aurora, Thanks for the write up on your blog! I really appreciate it!

    Viola, *waving* Hi!! I’ve been keeping a log of non-US visitors, and it’s so neat to see where everyone is from. πŸ™‚

  12. Me and my mom just watched the Gywenth Paltrow “Emma” about a week ago – We loved it! I agree with you, Elizabeth; this is definitley an extrodinary hair movie! πŸ™‚
    Jane Austen has become one of my favorite authors! πŸ™‚

    Love in Christ, Alexxus

  13. It would be nice to see some lovely hair styles from Sense and Sensibility (Emma Thompson; Kate Winslet) and Pride and Prejudice (Colin Firth; Jennifer Ehle)! There are very beautiful hair styles in these two movies. I hope to see some soon! πŸ™‚ I like the Kate Beckinsale version of Emma best, because it is so faithful to the book. Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

