Emma: Knot Bun with Curls

I hope all you ladies are having a wonderful week!

Today’s tutorial is for the most common style for Emma through out the movie. You can see it in a gazillion scenes, including the ball, the Coles’ party, the picnic, and the “I love John! I hate John!” scene.

I don’t have naturally curly hair. When I set my curls, I used the smallest rollers I have, and this is the tightest curl my hair will do. Gwyneth Paltrow’s hair is straighter than mine so I have a suspicion that her teeny curls are a hair piece. If you have any curling ideas, please leave a comment.

For today’s style, you only need to know how to do a basic bun.





Here’s the same basic style from another scene with some interesting back views.


1. Part you hair in the center. Begin a basic bun, but only go around once.


2. While holding on to the ends, lift the coil . . .


. . . And fold it over to the side.


5. Wrap the ends up and around.


6. Pull the ends through the center of the coil . . .


. . . Like this.


7. Fold the original coil back the way it was . . .


. . . So you have this. Basically, we just tied a knot in the hair, but upside down so that the ends would come from underneath the bun instead of out the top. If the knot bun is not working for you, you could just do a basic bun.


8. Set the ends in your preferred curling method.


These are the curls I got.


You could wear this style with a ribbon . . .


. . . Or pin the curls across the top . . .


. . . Or wear the curls to the side.

11 thoughts on “Emma: Knot Bun with Curls

  1. Cute! I love that style! You might be able to do little rag curls for the curls – I might try that. 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. My hair is finally long enough for this! I’m wearing it today, sort of. I did it from memory, so it’s not exactly the same. Instead of tying the knot upside down, I tied the knot right side up, then flipped the whole thing up and pinned it. Put up this way, it only takes two large hairpins to hold quite comfortably.

    Now that my hair’s nearly tailbone length, I’m looking forward to trying more of your styles!

  3. I did paper curls with my extremely straight hair, and got tiny curls that were, in fact, TOO tiny and too frizzy (and got worse every time I tried to fix it). I’m guessing rag curls would work quite nicely here. I’m going to go with slightly looser paper curls in my next go round.

  4. I use small rollers (like you have) or a curling iron (with lots of mousse, gel or hairspray) to keep my straight hair curly! I have used rags to curl my hair too (which gave me dreadlocks by accident once!) but have never used paper curls.
    Love the knot bun though! Will have to try!

  5. Try curling your hair around a pencil or just a small wooden dowel. You can hold it in place with a small claw clip while the curls are setting, and this would be a way to get smaller curls than you can get with sponge curlers.

Leave a Reply

