Emma: Archery Style

Emma: The most incomprehensible thing in the world to a man is a woman who rejects his offer of marriage!
Mr. Knightly: I do not comprehend it because it is madness!

Today is the last tutorial for Emma Week. I would say that when most people think of “Emma,” this is the scene that comes to mind. With such a beautiful setting and witty dialog, the archery scene is the definition of a tempest in a teacup.

Emma’s iconic style is pretty easy. You only need to know how to do a basic bun and a shell bun.




1. Part your hair in the center. Clip the front sections out of the way for now.


2. With all the rest of your hair, make a bun, but only go around once so that the ends come out on one side.

*Note* When I did the pictures for this tutorial, I had one theory about the front twists. I re-watched the scene, and I figured out a more exact way to get Emma’s version. First will be the original instructions (which is what will be seen in all the other pictures), and then I’ll show you the improved method.

Original Twist Method:

1. Twist the right section up/forward.


2. Keep twisting until your twist goes across the bun and back to the other side.


3. Fold the twist once towards the back so that the ends go under the twist. Wrap the ends around the bun.


4. Twist the left side up/forward. Wrap the twist between the first twist and around the bun.

Improved Twist Method:

1. Twist a side section up.


2. Fold the twist up and in front of the bun.


3. Fold the ends back on themselves and twist them together like a shell bun (link at the top). Pin.


4. With the other side, either do another twist like the first one (what I did) or just do a simple twist like the original instructions.

Continue as follows for either method.

Set your ends with your favorite curling method.


Pin a bow with tails to the bun, and you’re done!


View from the side.


For something a little different, you could wear a tiara or sparkly headband instead of the ribbon.

Words of wisdom from the archery scene:
“Better to be with out sense than to misapply it. Talk sentimentally, but act rationally. Try not to kill the dogs.”
— Mr. Knightly (anyone notice how many Jane Austen heroes don’t have first names?)

So, which was your favorite tutorial from Emma Week?

8 thoughts on “Emma: Archery Style

  1. This was probably my favorite tutorial! It was lovely! I will have to do that style next time I wear my Regency dress… πŸ™‚

    I was wondering if in the future you might do some tutorials from the Emma Thompson version of “Sense & Sensibility”? (I actually tried to do one of Marianne’s styles once; it turned out okay, actually! πŸ™‚ )

  2. I was :hoping: you were going to do the archery hairstyle! Yay! πŸ˜€

    Oh, and the JA gents do have first names (Fitzwilliam Darcy, for instance), it’s just that it would have been rude to use them in that time period – would have been considered much too familiar.

  3. Melanie, I do this style for my sister for Regency, and with her blond hair, she looks just like Emma.

    Sense and Sensibility is my favorite Jane Austen book! We’ll see about tutorials . . .

    Laura, I saved the best for last. πŸ˜‰

    I know that first names would be improper, but you have quite a search to even find their christian names! At least Mr. Bingley had the decency to have sisters who call him Charles.

  4. Oh! Pretty!! I love the last, with the headband!

    LOL Yes, well at least Edward Ferrars (S&S), Edmund (MP) and Henry Tilney (NA) do! (Those are my favorites too by the way!)

    πŸ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  5. I believe his name is George Knightly, and his brother (married to Emma’s sister) is John Knightly. I know, it is hard to find them, but they’re there. It’s just that some are mentioned in the books, but left out of the films.

  6. I’ve read/watched “Emma,” “Pride & Prejudice,” and “Sense & Sensibility.” The gentlemen’s first names don’t just pop up all the time, but they’re there! It takes some searching to find them, though. Let me think. Here are some:
    Fitzwilliam Darcy (not to be confused with his friend, Colonel Fitzwilliam)
    George Knightley (*the* Mr. Knightley)
    John Knightley (his brother)
    Edward Ferrars
    Charles Bingley
    I realize this isn’t that important a discussion, but couldn’t help adding my two cents.

    To Him Belongs Praise,
    Alexandrien

  7. Pingback: I survived the dance… « My Blog

  8. Just discovered your blog and these tutorials! Love them! I just finished watching Emma (have seen it many times before) and after two hours of admiring her hairstyles, decided to google and found your tutorials! I only wish my hair was longer… Its only just below my shoulders, but it’s quite thick, so we will see if I can make some of these work! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

