New Look and Inspiration

Happy January, ladies!  I hope that you all had a very Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!!

First things first.  Over the break, I redesign my website to make it easier to read.  I’d love to hear your thoughts about the new look.  Love it?  Hate it?  Like the old one better?

For my first post of the new year, I would like to share my hair inspiration.  I have had at least long-ish hair since I was 5 years old because my mom and dad liked my hair long.  As a Christian, I believe that it is Biblical for a woman to have long hair, but growing up, I never thought much about it.  Long hair was just something we did, not necessarily pretty. Then I saw “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.” 
This lovely musical isn’t true to the book or historically accurate, but I love it any way.  If you aren’t familiar with the story, it is about a man from the early 1900s named Hank Martin (Bing Crosby) who is transported back to the glorious reign of King Arthur(Cedric Hardwicke).  During Hank’s visit, he falls in love with the king’s niece, Lady Alisande La Carteloise (Rhonda Fleming), a pretty redhead.  In this scene, she sings “When Is Sometime?” for King Arthur and the stranger from the far-off land beyond the Great Sea.

For those of you who love costumes, here is the front of her gown. This reminds me of a couple different Pre-Raphaelite paintings.


What about you? Do you have a long hair inspiration, real or fictional?

11 thoughts on “New Look and Inspiration

  1. Happy New Year!
    I really like the pictures, I don’t know the film,yet. I like the hair in “Enchanted”, but not in the ending scenes (the ball), which I think, is like the real hair of the actress.
    Again, I want to ask you about half-up-styles.

    I do like the new look, it’s pretty clean. Rightly so for a new year as everything tends to get cluttered up, as the year progresses. But the heading picture should be something about the theme of your blog. Flowers are nice, but a little common.
    I hope you don’t mind my honesty. I don’t really care the cover, if the book is so good!
    :-))

  2. Oh lovely!! I love your new blog look! 🙂 And that actress is so gorgeous. Love the hair.

    Well, let’s see… my first inspiration for long hair was my mom. She had hair down to her waist when I was little and I loved it so much. We loved brushing it for her. I’ve always loved long hair. So beautiful! For a long time I wanted hair down to my knees or ankles. Right now my hair is about 6 or 7 inches past my waist but I think that’s where it has stopped. I’m not sure if it will grow any more than that. It’s been that long for quite awhile. Oh well. I just keep taking omega 3 oils and calcium. 🙂

    I love all the girls with long hair in Pre Raphaelite paintings. Especially this one: http://www.art.com/products/p12180992-sa-i3720503/edmund-blair-leighton-the-accolade-c1901.htm?sorig=cat&sorigid=0&dimvals=0&ui=f7c071fbdc004d6fb3a970188f476feb

    and this one: http://www.art.com/products/p10078774-sa-i786930/john-william-waterhous-la-belle-dame-sans-merci.htm?sorig=cat&sorigid=0&dimvals=0&ui=f7c071fbdc004d6fb3a970188f476feb

    Thanks for all the inspiration! I really wanted to try some of those Emma hairstyles but, alas, I have had no time these past few weeks! You did such a lovely job! Thanks!!

    Genevieve

  3. Viola, I like “Enchanted” too! And I agree, they totally messed up her look in the last scene.

    I’ve got some half-ups coming. I had one all ready to go, and when I went to add the pictures, they were all horribly out of focus. :’-(

    Thanks for your honesty. I know the flowers aren’t the best, but I don’t have access to the “good” computer to make a new header (my brother got computer stuff for Christmas). It’s on my to-do list, maybe a montage of Pre-Raphaelite maidens.

    *Edit* New header added!

    Genevieve, Thanks!

    I know that some people’s hair won’t grow beyond a certain length. My sister tried for years, but it wouldn’t go beyond waist length for some reason.

    I ❤ Pre-Raphaelite paintings.

  4. I do like the look. Nice organizing too.
    I grew my hair out till it was almost waist length, and it was curly. But I rarely cut it so it got really unhealthy so I had to cut about 6 inches off. Now I’ll probably grow it out again but take better care of it. There’s something so feminine and beautiful about a woman’s long hair. It is her glory as the Bible says.
    I don’t have a particular inspiration, just any long hair I see inspires me.
    And thank you so much for this wonderful website, I’ve gotten so many ideas, and I love that you post so frequently.

  5. She has some beautiful hair!! I love your hair too – it’s so pretty! 🙂

    I don’t know… my main inspiration as a young girl, was the Bible passage that spoke of a woman’s long hair as her “glory”. That and I loved my mom’s long hair. (It was really long when I was little.) Funny thing is – I always wanted to have black curly hair – like Diana in Anne of Green Gables. Instead I had straight blond hair! (I’m a light brunette now, but I used to be a blond.)

    I like the new look – though it might make it softer on the eyes, if the background was just a little more off-white – just an idea. I tend to like cream or slightly tinted backgrounds myself. 🙂 Reminds me – I need to work on our blog – it still looks like CHRISTmas!

    I’m off to put my hair into Bandana Waves – I want wavy hair tomorrow for some reason… 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  6. I like the new burgundy look; but I really liked the green, too. Green goes so well with red hair.

    My hair has been about 8 inches past my waist for several years now; it is blonde and fine and straight. I trim it occasionally, but it doesn’t seem to grow any longer. I too wanted hair down to my feet when I was a girl.

  7. LOL I wanted hair that dragged across the floor when I was little. I once saw a picture (drawing I think it was) of a woman with hair like a wedding veil – but my Mom said my hair would just get stringy and nasty – not to mention filthy! :p I do trim mine every six month or so, to keep the ends nice. 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  8. Hi Miss Elizabeth,

    I’m Beka, a 15-yr old Christian homeschooler from Malaysia, and have been viewing your blog. For quite awhile I couldn’t find websites to tell me how to style my long hair, which is now about 3 inches above my waist, but was overjoyed when I found yours. I love having long hair. My favorite movie for long hair inspiration is “Fiddler on the Roof”. The girls all have such sweet, waist-long hair tied in the Jewish way.

    My mom had very long hair as a child and my gramma cut it and made it into a wig.

    Do go on posting such sweet pretty hairstyles, you’re doing such a favor for old-fashioned girls as I,

    Thanks,
    Beka

  9. My inspiration for having long (red) hair has always been Ariel from the Little Mermaid. Before I cut and donated my hair, I used to go swimming with my hair loose. Just to feel like Ariel for a moment.

Leave a Reply

