Pin Roll Bun 3

Psalm 34:1-7

“1 I will bless the LORD at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.
2 My soul shall make her boast in the LORD; the humble shall hear thereof and be glad.
3 O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt His name together.
4 I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.
5 They looked unto Him and were lightened, and their faces were not ashamed.
6 This poor man cried, and the LORD heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles.
7 The angel of the LORD encampeth round about them that fear Him, and delivereth them.”

I’m adding something new to Rapunzel’s Resource, a scripture passage of the week.Β  Verse 5 says “he looked to the Lord, and his face was lightened”; another translation uses the word radiant.Β  No matter situation, we can turn to God and know He is in control and have joy.Β  Or as the hymn writer said, “Turn your eyes upon Jesus/ Look full in His wonderful face, / And the things of earth will grow strangely dim/ In the light of His glory and grace. ”

On to today’s tutorial!

Waaaaay back in November, I did a tutorial with ribbons, and Jordan asked how I did the bun on the right so here it is! For those of you who have asked about a regency bun for short hair, this is the same style, with some slight changes. This is also my pin roll half-up. Tutorials coming later this week, hopefully!

If you’re newer to my blog, it would be helpful to read the Pin Roll Introduction, the Flower Bun, and Pin Roll Bun 2.


1. Starting with a ponytail, divide your hair so that you have a big section in the middle (about half) and a smaller section on each side.


2. With about half of the middle section, make a pin roll going down, and pin it over the top of your ponytail.


3. Take the edges and spread them out so they make a curve. From the side, you shouldn’t be able to see through the roll.


4. Clip the rest of the middle section out of the way for now. With the right section, make 2 rolls going forward and down (like the flower bun).


5. Repeat on the left side. I moved the clipped section first.


6. Unclip the middle section and divide it in half. Make two pin rolls going up and pin them to the middle of the bun. Like in step 3, curve the edges around so that you can’t see through the middle.


Finished view from both sides.

17 thoughts on “Pin Roll Bun 3

  1. Wow! That is SO beautiful! I want to try it soooon!

    Psalm 34 is one of my favorite verses. So comforting. πŸ™‚ Thanks for posting about it. Looking forward to more. πŸ™‚

    Genevieve

  2. I’m a HUGE fan of your blog. You give so much inspiration for me for doing my hair. I’m a twist-in-a-bun-with-a-chopstick-in-the-morning-girl, normally!
    Great job!
    The new design with the new header is so pretty; I like it now!

  3. Hi again! I’m really enjoying your blog. Next week, I’m going to be doing Bleak-House-themed posts, and I was wondering if you had (or could make) any tutorials for the 2005 BBC miniseries? I’m interested in Esther’s two styles and Lady Dedlock’s, in particular. Let me know, thanks!

  4. Sorry, I didn’t even think to include pictures! Here’s a link to a screencap album so you can find exactly what you are looking for:

    Album: http://s145.photobucket.com/albums/r207/bleakhouse/

    And these are pictures just to show the general hairstyles I was thinking about:

    Lady Dedlock: http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r207/bleakhouse/episode%201/dvd007-1.jpg

    Esther #1: http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r207/bleakhouse/episode%201/dvd067.jpg

    Esther #2: http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r207/bleakhouse/episode%201/dvd144-1.jpg

    Thanks so much! I was planning on linking these tutorials on my blog so you can get some extra advertising. πŸ™‚

  5. Nibs, I’m looking through the pictures trying to find shots where I can see the back. Are any of these what you want? (These aren’t in any order; sorry it’s a lot of urls.)

    Green dress style

    Blue dress style

    Print dress style

    Purple cape style

    Other blue dress style (They might be the same)

    Cloak style

    Other brunette lady

    Blond girl (When I was 15-16, I wore my hair kind of like that all the time!)

  6. See, that’s the difference between you and me – I thought the green/blue/purple dress/cloak/cape styles (all on Esther) were the same! If they are different, whichever one you think would be easiest to recreate would be nice. πŸ™‚ Thanks for doing this – if it’s not too much trouble, I’d think I’d also like to see the print dress, brunette lady (Lady Dedlock) and blond girl (Ada Clare) hairstyles.

  7. Oh, they very well might be the same hair do. I’ll try lightening the pictures in Photoshop and see.

    And Samantha, time? What’s that? πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: Pin Roll Half-Up « Rapunzel's Resource

  9. Wow!! That’s intricate! πŸ˜€

    About the Bleak House pictures – if it will help you any, Elizabeth, I’m not sure about the first three, but the next four are the same hairstyle almost certainly, because they are from scenes that are set in the same days – two days – And Esther (that’s the girl you have so many pictures of) usually wears basically the same style all the time. If I’m not mistaken about the scene, the third picture that you posted is the only one that is majorly different – her hair style changes about halfway through the movie to help cover up the effects of smallpox on her face. πŸ˜€

    Bleak House is a great movie – but its really dark. It’s probably even darker than Little Dorrit, just so you are forewarned if you ever want to watch it. πŸ™‚ I love the hair and dresses in their though!! πŸ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  10. I definitely agree with Rebekah, but want to add that they’ve taken several liberties with the book – still, you should really watch Bleak House! (Maybe you can tune in to “Bleak House week” on my blog – on Wednesday I’ll have a review of this version. πŸ˜‰ )

  11. ^Ah yes! I agree with Nibs. They took several liberties with the book – which I have read most of – but I usually do my best to look beyond that – unless I feel up to giving my poor sisters a lecture on being an accurate film maker… :p I’m strange, eh? :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  12. I wonder… Could this be done in a different location? I’ve got working-on-waist-length hair that’s fine and I’m thinking about wedding styles… Could this be done closer to the nape of the neck and/or to one side, so as to work with a birdcage veil and fascinator? Wedding theme is vintage-y cabaret-type thing, so trying to keep it classy!

  13. Pingback: MARIANNE DASHWOOD: BEAUTY | ALL THINGS AUSTEN

Leave a Reply

