Pin Roll Half-Up

Here is today’s style, a half-up based on Pin Roll bun 3 modeled by by my sister Melissa. (Her blog is QuiltingHoneyBee.wordpress.com.) The instructions almost identical. I hope you like it! Oh, and did you notice? I now have a nifty tag cloud on the side. –>


1. Make a ponytail with the hair from behind your ears to the crown of your head. Divide the ponytail so that you have a big section in the middle (about half) and a smaller section on each side.


2. With about half of the middle section, make a pin roll going down, and pin it over the top of your ponytail. Take the edges and spread them out so they make a curve. From the side, you shouldn’t be able to see through the roll.


3. Clip the rest of the middle section out of the way for now. With the left section, make 2 rolls going forward and down (like the flower bun). Repeat on the right side.


4. Divide the what’s left of the middle section in half. Make two pin rolls going up and pin them to the middle of the bun. Like with the top section, curve the edges around so that you can’t see through the middle.

My sister asked me when I was doing this style if she’s going to be a famous web star now. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Pin Roll Half-Up

  1. And I can say I knew Melissa before she was famous… Her hair looks red on my computer!

    πŸ˜‰ I really need to practice the pin rolls… love the look, but can’t do it yet!

  2. I did the pictures in a different room than I normally do, and I couldn’t get the white balance to work! I’m blaming the lightbulbs . . .

    For all those who don’t know my family in real life, my sister’s hair is blond.

    *edit* I added a link to Melissa’s quilting blog.

  3. Hi, this is my first time visiting your blog. You have so many ideas for hairstyles for long hair, i usually just wear mine down, so i will deffinately be trying some of the styles.

    Rose

  4. LOL Her hair looks red on my computer too! But not quite as red as yours does. πŸ™‚

    I love that style! It’s beautiful!! But like Jordan – I can’t do pinrolls yet either!! I always fail… *sigh* What trauma, what stress, what horror!! *end of dramatic moment* I really need to work on it. πŸ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  5. Ahh, good ol’ artificial light–it plays havoc with digital photography! πŸ˜› At first I thought it was you in these pictures. πŸ˜‰

    This style reminds me a little of Giselle’s hair in ‘Enchanted’ (Central Park scene)…but without all the curls and flowers and ribbons. Very pretty. Thank you once again for all these tutorials–you’ve inspired me to try some different things with my hair.

    God bless,
    ~Rebekah G.

  6. This is my first time visiting your blog and it is VERY nice!!! I absolutely LOVE the look of this hairstyle!!!! I’ll definetly be trying this one!!!!!

Leave a Reply

