Bleak House: Version 1

Micah 6:6-8

6With what shall I come before the LORD, and bow myself before the high God?
Shall I come before Him with burnt offerings, with calves of a year old?
7Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, or with ten thousands of rivers of oil?
Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?
8He hath shown thee, O man, what is good: and what doth the Lord require of thee
but to do justly and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?”

This passage asks how can we please God. First, Micah contemplates “reasonable” offerings, then unfathomable extremes of wealth. He even considers his child. Finally, he recognizes that anything we can do in the flesh is insufficient. The attitude of heart and fellowship with the Lord is what He desires.

Miss Nibs over at wickfield-writings.blogspot.com has asked me to a couple of styles from Bleak House. I haven’t seen the movie so please do some research before you decide if it would be appropriate viewing for your family. Today’s style is what most of the characters are wearing, from what I can tell. Later this week, I’ll have another version that I think you’ll like. For those of you who were waiting for the Regency for short hair tutorial from last week’s series, I’m still planning on doing it; my model with short hair just hasn’t been available recently.


1. Part your hair in the center and set it in at least five bandana waves. This picture is from the swing tutorial, but I did the exact same set.


2. Undo the back 3 sections. It was raining when I did these pictures so the waves didn’t set as much as I wanted.


3. Braid these sections into a very loose braid and coil it into a bun.


4. Undo the front sections, twist them slightly and pin to the bun.


5. Keep twisting and wrapping around the bun. Repeat on the other side.


6. After looking at some of the picture from the movie, I noticed that my bun had sagged lower than the movie style. I pushed it up and jammed some pins into it to make it higher.

18 thoughts on “Bleak House: Version 1

  1. Beautiful! Can’t wait to try it sometime! I have long hair (down to my waist) and I need to learn more styles – besides a headband and plain hair clip. πŸ˜€ (And an occasional easy “crown braid”.) I really enjoy seeing all the beautiful styles on your blog! Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for doing Bleak House styles! I love the movie – such gorgeous costumes and hair.

    Do you know if these style are from the 2005 version, or the earlier one?

    –A.

  3. Beautiful! It looks just like Esther’s from the movie! Wish my hair was long enough to do that!

    You must watch Bleak House; I am sure you would enjoy it! There is very little “language” and no inappropriate scenes. Like Dickens, there are certainly eccentric characters. πŸ™‚ I am actually planning on doing a review on it on my “Hooks and Needles” blog soon. πŸ™‚

  4. Wow! It’s THAT simple?? I’ll have to try it – and I think I would wear a hat with that too! πŸ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  5. I love the way you make these hair styles look so easy. Admittedly, it takes me LOTS of practice to accomplish these.

    I recently saw a program on OPBS called “Larkrise to Candleford”. One of the ladies in the movie had a figure eight style bun on the back of her head. I was wondering if you could show us how to accomplish this style. It is so becoming.

    Blessings, Janet W. (Or)

  6. These Bleak House styles are wonderful! I LOVED the book, and therefore would probably not like the movies (I read all Dicken’s novels in less than a year! Quite hooked.) I noticed some very interesting hairstyles in the illustrations of many Dickens books – Martin Chuzzlewit in particular. I’ll try to get a picture….

  7. Pingback: My 15 Hairstyles | Wholesome Womanhood

  8. That is LOVELY… looks fairly doable, also. I am curious, why do you do the bandana curls if all the hair is going to be up in braids and twists and such?

    • I did it for two reasons. 1) I wanted the wavy texture above the braids. And 2) my hair isn’t very thick, and if I do multiple braids like that, I need a little bit more volume. If you have thick enough hair, you can definitely skip the bandana waves. πŸ™‚

  9. I LOVE your website! It’s fantastic! I’ve been looking for these types of tutorials for years!

    I want to share my favourite updo. You make a combined french-braid like this:
    http://www.dreamweaverbraiding.com/braids/combination.htm
    but starting combinding a bit higher up. Then you tuck in the tail and pinn it. It’s a updo that also is ageing very nicely, it’s almost better after a while. It looks old-fashioned, but not too strict and a bit more relaxed.

    Thanks again!

  10. Pingback: My 15 Long Hair Styles | Wholesome WomanhoodWholesome Womanhood

Leave a Reply

