The Flip and Twist

2 Peter 1:3-4

3According as His divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness,
through the knowledge of Him that hath called us to glory and virtue:
4Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be
partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.”

This passage is from my devotions last week. I really wanted to post the whole chapter! One thing that jumped out to me was that little word “all.” God has given us all we need for life and godliness. I may know that in my head, but my question for myself is, by my actions, what is not part of that all? (I hope that makes sense). As christians we may say that we’re trusting Christ for the big things like forgiveness for sin, finances, or a future spouse, but what about the little things like how to respond to the people and situations? And to what am I looking to fill that gap in my faith?

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding” Proverbs 3:5.

This is not the tutorial I had planned for today. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ve been watching the new Emma so I was going to do that style, but it was not to be. I’ll try again later! These pictures are from before I cut my hair, by the way.

This is my never-fail, I-forgot-I-had-to-leave-5-minutes-ago-and-my-hair’s-still-in-a-yucky-thing-held-up-with-a-giant-clip ‘do. Yes, even hair fairies have days like that. You only need one hair tie, ribbon optional. And it’s really fast! I can do this style in the car without a mirror. Even if you’re driving, it only takes two or three red lights.


1. Make a ponytail. Separate it in the middle about the band and pull it out a little. (My part should be straighter! Sorry.)


2. Push the ponytail down through the hole you just made.


3. Tighten the ponytail.


4. Twist the ponytail, fold in half, let go, and push the ends into the band from the underside.

*For perfectionists*
When you twist the ponytail, one side of the twists above the band will get tighter and the other looser. That usually isn’t a problem, but you could choose which way you twist the ponytail depending on how your original flip turned out. If one side is less twisted, twist so that side becomes tighter and evens out.


Ta-da!


I like to add a ribbon to keep the wispies around my face at least somewhat neat. I was feeling a little too “blue” so I decided on the cream ribbon.


I love wearing this style with hats, especially wide-brim ones.

How do you wear your hair for hats?

10 thoughts on “The Flip and Twist

  1. this is perfect for me because if I take very long doing my hair my Mother says I don’t start my schooling early enough (I’m home schooled).
    I LOVE hats, any suggestions on where to look for them? I like macy’s but some of them are kind of expensive there and I couldn’t find any in a light cream colored/natural like the one your wearing in photo butI really wanted one:(

  2. What a cute hairstyle! Thanks for the instructions. I love hats, but most store-bought hats just don’t quite fit my small head. This is when the basic bun really helps hold everything in place. (Hat pins are nice too!) Vintage hats are usually a little easier, especially the small hats from the ’40s and ’50s.

    Thanks again!

  3. Cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Most of the time, when I wear a hat (which is usually every day actually – I’m strange that way! :p) I wear my hair one of five ways: a braid bun at the back of my neck, the sides pulled back and clipped, the sides twisted back (similar to Eowyn in LOTR but more side hair twisted), your Civil War variation of the Luana braids or a hairstyle similar to this one you just posted – only I split the twisted sections into two and braid them before twisting them and putting them up.

    Lately I’ve started doing a roll of sorts – but it’s not entirely perfected yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love your sweater by the way! ๐Ÿ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  4. Well, sometimes I put it into two braids, like pig tails, then coil those into two little side buns. Or, I like to curl my hair, either in rags, or with your wonderful bandana waves, and then wair it half up clipped in a barett. I like to do buns because I normally when I am wearing a hat, it is out in the garden or working cows. However, buns don’t work too well with hats. I have to mine somewhat in the middle. Other wise, if I get it too low where a hat would fit, my bun won’t stay in place.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Thanks for a new idea!!!

    In Christ’s love,
    Sarah

  5. Pingback: French Braid Variation « Rapunzel's Resource

  6. What kind of long-hair style looks good with a cloche-style hat? I saw Helena Bonham-Carter wearing a darling one in The King’s Speech and fell in love with the style all over again. Could this twist be relocated to one side or the other?

Leave a Reply

