The Cecily Half-up

Psalm 37:23-25

23The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD, and he delighteth in His way.
24Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down; for the LORD upholdeth him with His hand.
25I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken,
nor his seed begging for bread.

Today’s style from “The Importance of Being Earnest” is one I’ve wanted to do for a really long time. I love this film!  There’s lots of witty one-liners, pretty costumes, and quirky characters.  Just a note, I’ve only seen the movie on my family’s ClearPlay dvd player. Based on some reviews I’ve read, there are some brief moments that are not family-friendly.

The number and arrangement of the curls change between scenes. My tutorial is based on this image. This style also works for short hair. If you have much shorter hair, you might even be able to use all your hair to make it into an updo.



1. If you want, you could make your hair wavey like the movie version. I dampened my hair and french braided it just to be different; you could also use bandana waves. Twist and clip the sides with a flat barrette.

2. With a teeny little section, make a pin curl and pin it flat above the barrette. I pinned each curl with two U-shaped pins in a criss-cross. Some curls were rebellious and got three pins. 😉


If you don’t know how to make pin curls, basically you wrap the section around two fingers . . .


so you have a little loop.


3. Make a total of five little curls. Don’t worry about covering the barrette; we’ll fix that in the next step. I did this tutorial based on my memory without seeing the screen caps. My curls should have more of a curve to them.


4. Make three more little curls for the next row. When I made the side curls, I took a section from the opposite side and crossed it under the center curl to make the swoopy effect.

I don’t have any, but I think this would be really pretty with a bunch of little flowers scattered throughout.

13 thoughts on “The Cecily Half-up

  1. So lovely! I may try this for an event this weekend. Thanks!!

    That is a hilarious movie. (I made an edited version for our family) I’ve been wanting to put on the play! I would love to be Aunt Augusta. *tee hee*

  2. Beautiful hairstyle! I’ve wanted to see “The Importance of Being Earnest” for a while but I couldn’t find the film on the ClearPlay list of filtered films (we have ClearPlay as well), since I had read a review on some of the non-family friendly content. So ClearPlay does have a filter for it?

    (By the way…your hair is gorgeous!)

  3. Quick edit– I went running with my brother after I posted this tutorial and didn’t bother to undo my hair. Amazingly, it stayed! I went back and added more info about pinning, by the way.

  4. So simple and lovely! My hair is growing very rapidly, and I cannot wait to try these styles out.
    I don’t know if this movie contains any new hairstyles, but I would love to see you do some of the be-ribboned styles of Catherine Morland in Northanger Abbey (2007).

  5. Virginia, I’m working on a post about the history of my long hair. Stay tuned!

    Moira, I haven’t seen Northanger yet. I loved the book, though! Did it ever come out on dvd (so I could use Clearplay)?

    • Yes it is out on DVD – or you could just look for screencaps somewhere. (Offtopic) Clearplay looks pretty cool – does it work alright?

  6. Thanks so much! This looks awesome!!!
    Also a million thank yous for what your doing! I’ve looked and looked for hair tutorials so when I found this I was delighted!

    Thanks again,
    Brooke

  7. Dear Elizabeth~
    I really like this site and your sewing site! You are so talented! You looks so Beautifull in all your pictures!

    Rachel

Leave a Reply

