For those with Short Hair

I’ve received a lot of requests for styles for short hair. While I’m willing to help you all out, I specifically started this site as a blog for long hair tutorials because all the styles I could find online were for shorter hair that didn’t work for me.

I’ve tried to do some short-hair tutorials, but my shorter-hair friends and family aren’t available for tutorials pictures that often.  And I’m just better with long hair because that’s what I have and can play with whenever I want.  ; )

In answer to some of your questions, I have never donated my hair, and it’s always been long. Well, as far back as I can remember. For proof, here’s a picture of me when I was nine years old. (Because I’m the only redhead in my family, and neither of my parents have red hair either, they didn’t want to cut it. My blond sister, on the other hand, grew up with Shirley Temple ringlets.)


I’ve done styles for my short-hair friends for plays, reenactments, and formals, and there are ways to adapt long hair techniques. So, for those of you who want to try my styles with shorter hair, here are some ideas to try.

  1. Any of my styles with pinrolls/pincurls will probably work.
  2. Try the buns as half-ups or any of the regular half-ups.
  3. Use ropes instead of folded twists.
  4. For a larger braided bun, start with a french braid, and then wrap the tail next to it like this.
  5. If regular updos don’t work because your hair has layers, secure it in 2-5 ponytails on the back of your head where you want the bun. Twist, braid, or rope braid each section and wrap them around each other. (I did this once on a girl with barely shoulder-length hair, and it turned out like a really cool Edwardian up-swept chignon.)

To show you some of these ideas in practice, this is a style I did for my friend Jordan who’s hair is below-shoulder length.

Photograph courtesy of Jordan’s dad

I divided her hair into four sections with a center part and an ear-to-ear part and rope braided each section. With each of the back ropes, I made a bun. I crossed the front ropes to between the buns and then wrapped them down and around.

For more tutorials, these sites are helpful.

I will eventually convert this post to a permanent page. If you have anything to add, please leave a comment!

15 thoughts on “For those with Short Hair

  1. I subscribe to your blog because it is one of the very few places where ideas for long hairstyles are available.

    I know that it takes a great deal of time to make a tutorial. I would be sad to see any of that limited time used here to create tutorials for short hairstyles. Our world is currently oriented to short hair, so those styles can be found all over the place.

    That being said, if someone would be willing to film you doing a short haired friend’s hair that you would be doing anyway, it would be great to throw that up on this blog.

    Thanks so much for sharing your styling skills with your long-haired sisters.

  2. I don’t know exactly how you classify “long” hair, but my hair touches the bottom of my shoulder blades and compared to most other people I know I consider that fairly long. It’s definitely not as long as it has been before (waist length), but the tutorials I’ve used from your site have almost all worked, with some slight modifications. I think it would be interesting if you did maybe one tutorial for shorter-long hair for every four or five very long hair tutorials you do. That all being said, I agree pretty much with everything Aurelia wrote too 🙂
    Savannah

  3. I love your site! Thanks so much for all these great tutorials. I do have a request though – I would *love*, love an edwardian hair style or two! I’m always trying to come up with Edwardian inspired up-do’s, but I can’t always get it looking right.

    Thanks :]
    Jessica

  4. Oh! You were so cute at nine!!! 😀 And I would love to see a picture of your sister with her Shirley Temple ringlets – I just can’t picture it! :p

    A long hair site is definitely needed – I don’t know how often I searched to find long hair style ideas on line before and came up empty!! You are helping to fill a great void! 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    BLOG: http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  5. Just to clarify, I’m not planning to do any short hair tutorials, but I get so many e-mails for them, I wanted to put something up here.

    Aurelia, I’ve thought of doing videos, even for some of the long hair tutorials, and I just don’t have the technology, or time, or know-how, or . . . 🙂 For every picture that ends up on the website, I take 2-3. I can’t imagine how many do-overs a video would take.

  6. Ooo, look, it’s me 🙂 Thanks for linking to me and my dad. My hair is growing!

    I will not cut me hair. I will not cut my hair. I will not cut my hair… 😉

    By the way, I’ve given you an award on my blog!

    Jordan

  7. Hello!

    I just realized that your friend, Jordan, is the same girl on http://www.thesewingacademy.org. (known as JoBeth on there)How funny! I recognized her only by the jacket. She had posted some stuff on it when she was having some problems. Any way, I LOVE it when I find out stuff like that!! So neat to see people that you know and they actually know each, and blah, blah, blah. 🙂

    Any way, thanks for posting the hair thing. I don’t have LONG hair, but semi long, so some shorter hair styles work well on my hair.

    God bless!

    In Christ Alone,
    Sarah

    • Sarah, Jordan and I have known each other since before she started re-enacting! (Jordan, what year did you start? I’m drawing a blank.) We actually met on Sense and Sensibility.

      • Let’s see…I made my first dress the Summer of ’07, so going on 3 years now? We met earlier that year online and ran into each other at the conference that summer.

        Jordan

  8. Oh, now neat! That is always fun to reenact with friends! She did such a lovely job on her jacket, didn’t she?? I was so stunned when I saw only part of it!

    Sarah

  9. Hi, Elizabeth!

    I like your blog. You have beautiful hair and very feminine and romantic hairstyles. And I think most of them are adaptable for shorter hair. In fact, the french twist, the “heart attack”-s are suitable for quite short hair.

    What I’m trying to say is that you are doing a good job! So, keep up!

    Love,
    Elena.

Leave a Reply

