Sarah’s Request: Kate Beckinsale’s “Emma”

Hi everybody!

Today’s post is from a request from Sarah.

I wonder if you can figure out a way to do this style. I can only find one image of it, so it may be hard! I am filming a regency movie and am also the director, hair dresser, etc. So, I need some regency hair styles!! Can you help?? Thanks so much!

Here is the image.

Sarah was even so good as to reply to herself with a possible solution.  🙂

As I was thinking this over on my request. Do you think it would be possible to do this style like this:

Curl your hair, either in rollers or rags (for a curlier affect), or do pin curls. Then, do an upside down flip through, and maybe pin hair up slightly (so the hair falls down from a higher height on head.)

As I see it, there are about 3 different ways to do this style depending on how long your hair is.  All these start with pre-curled hair, so if you have naturally curly hair, you have it made in the shade!

Option 1. What Sarah came up with would work on shorter hair.  You could also do a regular flip through and then bobby pin the curls up. I’m pretty sure that is what is what the hairdresser for the movie did.

Option 2. Start with curly hair and make a faux-short ponytail.  I did that a while back for a different tutorial.  Here’s how it turned out.

Option 3. Start with curly hair again.  Make a bun and pin it so that the ends stick out the top and pin the curls over the bun. That would kind of look like the beginning of my Romola Garai Emma style.

I hope that helps!

I know it has been forever since I posted.  I’ll spare you the obligatory sob story, but real life has been very busy in both good and not-so-good ways.  Hopefully, things should get back to normal in a few weeks.

5 thoughts on “Sarah’s Request: Kate Beckinsale’s “Emma”

  1. Wow, thank you!! Ha-ha, I went to go look at the requests page to see if any one had replied to my question only to find the wonderful surprise of it being done! lol

    Thanks so much. I can’t wait to try it!!!

    Love in Christ,
    Sarah

  2. Elizabeth~
    I’ve been praying for you. Any chance I could get that “obligatory sob story” via email? 🙂 Did you get my update? Life’s been interesting the last two weeks…
    ~Jordan

  3. Hey Sarah,
    That’s beautiful, thanks for suggesting it, thanks Elizabeth for doing it! I will have to try it soon!
    ~Kayla

  4. I think the last idea sounds like the easiest. If I can ever find the time to curl my hair again, I think I’ll try it. 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

Leave a Reply

