Figure Eight Bun

Jeremiah 9:23-24

23Thus saith the LORD: “Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom,
neither let the mighty man glory in his might; let not the rich man glory in his riches.
24But let him that glorieth glory in this: that he understandeth and knoweth Me,
that I am the LORD who exercise lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness in the earth;
for in these things I delight,” saith the LORD.

This is a pretty basic style, the figure-eight bun. Even though it is simple, I keep coming back to it for an everyday style. This also works really well for wearing hats. There are many tutorials for this style, but this is the way I do it; I’m sure someone else has come up with this method before. One caution, however: this ‘do eats pins! You’ll need at least moderately long hair for this to work, but if you have shorter hair, it will work as a half-up.


1. Pull all your hair to the right side and twist to the left (back to the middle).


2. Wrap the twist like you’re making a regular bun to the right of center. As you go around, however, keep the wraps near the base so the bun sticks out. Tuck in the ends for now.


3. With your left hand, hold the top-most coil and fold it to the left.


4. Step 3 may have caused some parts to become more twisted and others untwisted. Reshape your style so it looks symmetrical.


5. Pin a lot! I use the big plastic hair pins with maybe four on each side. My right side had already slipped by the time I got this picture. Sorry.

You could be done. Whenever I do a figure-eight, the hair around my temples sags so here’s how to fix it.


Twist any loose bits . . .


. . . And pin.

8 thoughts on “Figure Eight Bun

  1. Hi Elizabeth,

    I love that style and the fact that it looks great with hats.

    I’m wondering if that same style can be done so as to go vertical as well as horizontal like you have done it?

    Thank you for sharing with us. We love this.
    Blessings, Janet.

  2. Ooh, I love that!! So stylish and yet really simple!! I made one like that, only vertical, quite by accident and haven’t been able to replicate it since! So, I am rather happy to see this… thanks!

    In Christ Alone,
    Sarah

  3. Janet and Sarah, The figure-eight does work vertically. Either start with the sticky-outy bun higher and flip the top coil down or lower and fold up. I did take pictures of a vertical version, but they turned out really bad, and I didn’t have a chance to retake them.

  4. Looks very nice on you. It’s one of my favorites.

    A reminder for readers who have some hair sticks or hair forks, this will usually hold with just one hair stick, even for very long and thick hair.

  5. Pingback: 1860s Ball Style « Rapunzel's Resource

  6. Hurray! A hat style!! I’ll certainly have to try this one! You know me and hats… :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  7. I LOVE this bun! My hair reaches below my waist and is REALLY thick and I live in AZ, so getting my hair up and out of the way is really nice in the summer time.

    One day I had no pony holders or bobby pins or anything, except a small clip that usually is perfectly useless in my hair and the day was HOT. So I decided to do a vertical figure eight bun and clip the top loop up. And it WORKED! The end of my hair stayed tucked in and that tiny clip just worked perfectly!

Leave a Reply

