French Braid Variation

James 3:17

“The wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, easy to be entreated,
full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.”

Ladies, are these qualities reflected in your speech and actions? I’m specifically convicted by peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated. Sometimes it’s so easy in conversation to beat someone over the head with our beliefs/convictions or opinions. We should strive to be gracious and teachable as we interact with others.

This is my absolute favorite variation of the French braid. Pretty much every other french braid has you starting with unparted hair, but that is unflattering on me. Here is an elegant solution to that problem. This style, along with the Flip and Twist, are my two every-day, go-to hair dos. I love it because it’s a nice way to get your hair up without a bun, especially if you get hair-induced headaches. You should be confident in French braiding before attempting this style.


1. Part your hair on the left. From the right from your front hairline/ear, make section and twist it.


2. Do the same thing on the left side and cross it over the first section.

*Note* I had a really hard time getting a hand free to push the button on my camera for this step. The cross should be on the middle!! And I went back and retwisted the left section.

But a French braid has three sections, not just two, right?


3. Make another section on the right side behind/below the first one. Cross it over the middle.


Now you have three sections!

4. Continue French braiding as you normally would. When you run out of hair, regular braid all the way down.


Here’s what you should have at this point.

The rest of the steps are entirely optional.

5. Fold the braid up, tucking the ends under the “French” part of the braid. (Actually, I tucked a bunch more, too!)


6. Sometimes I use one of those leather-thingy-with-holes-and-a-stick to hold my braid up. Today I used a sparkly slide thingy, but a scrunchy or bobby pins would work fine, too.


7. You could roll the braid up one more time, too, if you want.

This style deserves a better name than “French Braid Variation.” Any ideas?

29 thoughts on “French Braid Variation

  1. Thanks so much for showing how this is done. I’ve done a regular french braid for as long as I can remember and have wanted something similar – but slightly different and this looks great. Thanks!

  2. Elizabeth…I love your site and have shared the link with my best friend and sister in Christ! (she has hair down past her knees). I was wondering if you have ever done a reverse/upside down braid? Instead of starting at the top/front area, you start at the nape of your neck and work towards you forehead using the same technique as a standard french braid. I have only seen this done once before. I thought you might have fun playing with the idea.

    • Glad you’re enjoying RR!

      I have tried an up-side-down braid a couple of times in the past. While it was an interesting effect, after spending hours with my head upside-down, I couldn’t figure out a way to make it look good from the front. And the little curly hairs at the nape of my neck are very fragile and much shorter, which didn’t help. It is a cool idea, though!

  3. Very cute style!

    It’s amazing what works for some people and doesn’t work for others. I can’t make any inbraided style because gathering my hair along the back of my head like that gives me a headache. I have to start a style above my crown or at my nape.

  4. I love this! Tried this a little while ago but kept the long braid portion. This is my new favorite French braid! I think for church Sunday, I may try to put the braid under like the one in your first picture. My hair is long although not as long(almost though!) and pretty as yours. I appreciate all of your posts. I never know what to do with my hair besides a simple bun. I love the era pictures as well!

  5. Hi Elizabeth! Do you remember me? I met you at the HSC, just before you went to a workshop, and you were talking to me about sewing? It was really a thrill to meet you!

    Just wanted to stop by and say hello, and you can contact me through my blog!

  6. Cool! I love this! I will have to try it, although since I have to take a shower tonight I am thinking of doing the rags for tomorrow.. lol!
    How about “Twisted braid” or something like that for a new title?

    In Christ,
    Sarah

  7. You just solved a big problem for me! I have fairly short (shoulder-length) hair with irksome layers and bangs I’m growing out, and I’m a fireman. I can’t comfortably wear a ponytail or bun under a helmet, and the bangs/layers fall out of a standard braid when the heavy helmet slides around on my head. But if I twist the bangs into the first sections, that just might work!
    Thanks, Elizabeth. If this works, it’ll make a huge difference.

    By the way, have you given any thought to designing specifically “working” hairdos? Sturdy, stay-put hairdos that still let us feel like ladies. Cowgirls, firefighters and lifeguards will thank you!

  8. Hello, I found your blog via Ravelry and it’s very inspiring. I tried this pretty French braid today (though I finished it off more like a bun) and it looks great. Thank you for sharing this!

  9. Hi Elizabeth!
    You have such a lovely blog here, and all the hairstyles you share are goregeous! This is a beautiful variation of the french braid. I’ll have to try this one soon. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Have a blessed evening!
    Angel

  10. Pingback: Rapunzel's Resource

  11. Pingback: My 15 Hairstyles | Wholesome Womanhood

  12. Thanks for sharing this style! I really like this variation (I think unparted hair is unflattering on me too, so you solved my little problem with french braids…)

    Viry

  13. Pingback: 3 Easy Hair Tutorials |

  14. Pingback: My 15 Long Hair Styles | Wholesome WomanhoodWholesome Womanhood

Leave a Reply

