Beauty and the Beast

Today’s tutorials are inspired by the lovely Belle from “Beauty and the Beast” for the Belle fashion event being hosted by Hannah at spacious-soul.livejournal.com. Trying to copy a hairstyle from a cartoon was hard! What I ended up with works for my hair length, but you might need to modify it slightly for your hair type and length. I did a version of both Belle’s everyday ponytail which you can see in the image above and her ball style which you can see below.


(Sorry about the white balance being off. I tried to fix it, but to no avail. Also, I was going to do this as a video, however, I can’t get it to upload.)

First, Belle’s ponytail.

1. Part your hair. In the movie, Belle’s is parted in the middle. Start twisting a small section near your hairline and add more hair and keep twisting until . . .


you have about a third of your hair included in the twist. Clip it for now.


2. Repeat on the other side.


3. Gather everything together in a ponytail. For the ultimate Belle look, tie a ribbon around the ponytail holder.

Now, for her ball up-do . . . .

1. Do all three steps for Belle’s ponytail, but aim your twists higher so that the finished ponytail is very high.


2. Hold on to your right below your ponytail holder and fold your length up.


3. This next step is going to be like flipping a ponytail, but don’t pull all the length of your hair through! Split your hair above the ponytail holder and push the ends down . . .


so you have a loop like this.


4. Pin the loop so that it is flat and covers the ponytail holder both at the top and the bottom.


Ta-da!


To make something like looked like Belle’s hair thingy, I wrapped a ribbon around the loop/pretend bun.

23 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast

  1. Thanks – I tried and tried to do her ponytail when the movie 1st came out, but it never worked. I still don’t think it will work on my hair without a rat, but I have something to go by otehr then my own imagination.

  2. That’s so cool, Elizabeth! I had figured out her everyday ponytail when I was littler, but I never knew you could really do her ball hairstyle. Thanks for showing us how! 🙂

    ~ Vicki

  3. Great job! It’s always interesting to see how people figure out movie hairstyles. I can imagine cartoons are especially challenging because, ‘You can do anything in a cartoon!’ whereas you can only do *so much* in real life.

    The ponytail style is basically how I wear my hair, except I braid the ‘tail’ to keep it from turning into a giant mat. 😛

  4. Oh my, I bet trying to do a cartoons hairstyle was extremely hard! But alas, once again, you have mastered another hairstyle! 🙂 You have a gift, Elizabeth!

    I love Belle’s everyday ponytail, and I’m going to have to try it! I hope you can get the video tutorial up – they are so much easier! I have a hard time reading the directions and looking at the pictures and being able to get it right.

    I’m going to write, and print out your directions and pictures, and try to do that hairstyle. Thanks Elizabeth – once again you have given me a new idea for growing hair!

    Love, Alexxus 🙂 ♥ 🙂

  5. You have amazing hair. Before 1 year my hair was long and streight but now I cold curled it and made it on layers and I can’t do any hairstyle on it 😦
    I like the idea of these hairstyle and it’s perfect done 🙂 I’ll keep watch you’r blog.

    Best Greatings!
    Cveta

      • I’m sorry to hear about your friend, Elizabeth! 😦

        Looking forward to more posts! 🙂

        To the KING be all the glory!
        Rebekah

        Blog: http://donotgrowweary.com/blog/

        “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

      • Oh Elizabeth! I feel so terrible! I’m so sorry for being pushy. 😦 Like Rebekah above, I’m sorry for your friend. 😦

  6. My daughters and I just got to this style and are sad to read of your loss. Prayers in this trying time. However, you have made 3 girls happy as they now have princess hair.

  7. Elizabeth,

    Know that you have a whole world of people keeping up with your posts who are thinking of you and praying for you during this trying time. May God’s blessings be upon you and all those you hold dear.

  8. Hello Elizabeth!

    Thank you for the tutorial. Once again I am totally floored by your ability to figure out hairstyles.. even from a cartoon!!! Neat.

    I definitely like videos better. I am a visual sort of person, and doing videos makes my day so much better! I actually know if I am doing it *right* instead of guessing if I am going it right!!

    I am sorry for the loss of your friend. That is always tough. Prayers are with you and the family.

    Did you mention drama?? Drama like a drama club? Just curious. Our family is starting up our own drama club, so that just caught my eye. 😉

    God’s blessings,
    Sarah

  9. Hi Elizabeth,
    The hairstyle looks amazing. I was wondering if you could post some REALLY easy and very pretty styles for medium/long hair. I love playing with my hair but I’m very bad at hairstyles so do you have any instructions for styles for me.
    Thanks,
    Elisabeth

  10. LOVE IT! I just tried it out on my hair {the simple roll}! Took a few attempts, yet I love the results; so elegant and feminine for an everyday hairstyle. Tied it with a bow, and now I am singing Belle’s song all day! 🙂 Thank you SO much for sharing; so nice that there’s a resource filled with SIMPLE tutorials that work on my REALLY thick hair!:)

    Blessings,
    Grace

  11. No matter what I do, I can’t get those twists to work! I have the same hair type as you, please explain how to do them in more detail!

  12. Now, I’ve given it a go, and I think it looks fabulous! Thanks again! My hair isn’t as thick as yours so it doesn’t look quite the same, but still nice.

Leave a Reply

