A Long Over-Due Update

Marvelous Monday, Ladies!!!

I hope all of you are doing well and have enjoyed the past few months.  I am really sorry I didn’t get to “Narnia Week” as I had planned!  While I had every intention of writing new tutorials, my life has been so intense the last few months you wouldn’t believe it.  Thank you to those of you that extended sympathy back in October.  I really appreciate it!  In December, my church lost someone very dear to us, and while God’s goodness was shown, it has been very hard.  By her life and work, she was someone who impacted me tremendously and I greatly admired.   She and her husband are two of my heroes.  If you would like to be inspired by the life of a true woman of God, please leave a comment.  I’d love to send something to you.

Most of the rest of my life the past fall can be summed up in a quote by Jim Elliot. “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation that you believe to be the will of God.” God has asked me to work harder and pray harder than ever before. Girls and ladies, God has given you a purpose in life; give your all to it. Work, learn, encourage, admonish, clean, diaper babies, whatever you do, do it for God’s glory. But I also want to focus on the second part of the quote– the will of God. As someone . . . um . . . over 20, let me say that your life won’t be exactly like that plan you made or read in a book. God is so much more creative in how He will write your story. I had no idea how God would lead and prepare me for where I am now, but God is so good.

Last month, my brother starred as Matthew in a local production of “Anne of Green Gables” which went great. And other random hair-related news, I had a reason to wear this hair ‘do!

One other thing, I had an idea I wanted to run by you ladies. I’ve received a lot of requests for styles from movies, and I don’t know if I’ll ever have time to answer all of them. Some of you have answered each other already, and I think that’s great! I’m thinking of setting up a forum-style page for you readers to collaborate and brainstorm ideas about styles. What do you think?

27 thoughts on “A Long Over-Due Update

  1. Good to hear from you, Elizabeth! What lovely photos — your hairstyle is beautiful! Have you featured that style in a tutorial?

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s passing. I pray that the Lord would comfort you, her husband and family, and the rest of your church in this hard time.

    We would love to hear more about what the Lord has been doing in your life, too! 🙂

    Blessings and Merry Christmas!

    Love in Christ,
    Vicki

  2. It’s wonderful to hear from you at last, Elizabeth!

    You’ve been an inspiration to so many, and I’ve thought of you often over the last few months. I want to thank you right now for sharing not only your talent for creating and fostering beauty, but also for freely sharing the truths of God and encouraging others to follow Him.
    I’m so sorry to hear of your losses – I would be honored to hear the testimony of your friend, and I will be praying for her family, as well as yours and your congregation.

    Thank you for the inspiring quote.
    And you look so lovely in your wonderful sapphire evening gown – I love it!

    May you have a peaceful and blessed Christmas!

    Much love,
    ~Kellie~

    P.S. A forum sounds like a great idea!

  3. We are praying for you! I really enjoy your blog and I’m glad you’ll keep posting. I like the idea of a forum, that would be a good way to exchange some nice hairstyles.
    Let me tell you, I’ve used more than one of your hairstyles! Thank you!
    Katie

  4. So good to hear from you again! I’ve missed your sunny online presence.
    I would love to hear more about the lady. It sounds like the Lord did amazing things in her. Thank you for that message. I’ve really been struggling with laziness lately. Your reminder is very timely.
    Your hair is lovely! I think I shall recreate it. 🙂
    A forum sounds like fun. I haven’t seen anything like that in my internet searching.
    Have a very merry Christmas, Elizabeth.

  5. I’m sorry you lot a sister in Christ, even though we know they are in a much better place than we can fathom, it doesn’t mean we don’t still miss them being here in our lives 😦

    I love love LOVE that style! It looks beautiful, very elegant and yet not too ‘serious’.

  6. Heavens! Someone posted who spells their name the same as me! *high-fives*

    Anyway, how do you do that hairstyle that you posted? For shame leaving me without instructions? 😉

    Merry Christmas,
    Vicki

  7. Hi Elizabeth! It’s good to “hear” from you again on your blog! I’m sorry about your loss, and I would love to be inspired by a woman of God, if you have something to share.
    Stop by my page if you get a chance — I had my baby — a boy! He’s just a few weeks old.
    Take care,
    Jennifer S.
    PS, lovely hair as usual…my sister is inspired by your site, and does new and different braids all the time…even with her two little ones!

  8. Hello, Elizabeth!
    Good to see you again 😉
    Oh, I believe you’ve been crazy busy.
    A forum sounds really great!
    I too, can’t believe you posted a gorgeous hairstyle without telling us how to do it!

    Ttyl
    Jordan

  9. I’m very sorry to hear of the passing of your friend. Last year this time I experienced something very similar. May God’s comfort surround her family and friends.

    Goodness, you simply *must* wear blue taffeta all the time, it’s beautiful on you!

    I think that a forum would be a fantastic idea :), and I’m sure all of your readers look forward to hearing more from you.

  10. Elizabeth, glad to see you back! I am once again, so sorry for your loss, and I would love to be inspired by a true woman of God. 🙂
    I love the picture of yourself you posted – you look so elegant and beautiful – I love the way you did your hair, and the dress you wore is very flattering on you. ❤

    I like the idea of a forum – it would be helpful definitley! =]

    Have a Merry Christmas, Elizabeth, and remember Him!

    Love in Christ (Even more this season),
    Alexxus K.

  11. I like the idea of a forum, but honestly the whole “movie hairstyle” thing is a huge frustration to me. What about those of us with long hair that want it to look good, but don’t play dress up? I’m a busy mom with no time whatsoever for playing dress up like it seems a lot of people here do. This blog is great but it does frustrate me somewhat to see “Disney Princess” hair or “Narnia hair” or Jane Austen movie hair. Maybe you can put lots of things in the forums so that those of us who are regular everyday people can also learn some things? That would be awesome. Then those that want to play dress up can help each other out, and those of us that want to just do more than a ponytail or bun but still be normal can as well. 🙂

    • Katy Anne,

      I understand where you’re coming from and respect your opinion. I am also not in a life situation to “play dress-up” all the time, either. When I started my blog over a year ago, my goal was to write tutorials for techniques and styles that I had been using on long hair (my own and others) for which there were no instructions on the web. The reenacting community also wanted me to teach them authentic styles, and this was just the easiest way. I had no idea my blog’s readership would explode to the level of popularity I now have. So if some content doesn’t apply to every reader, I just have to accept that. I have 13 year-olds who e-mail me, ladies who could be my grandmother, and everything in between. I simply don’t have time to do very many more movie styles just for fun. That’s why I wanted those readers to “talk amongst themselves” without me writing new tutorials for every request. I hope to continue to write some tutorials for everyday use as time allows. If you are looking for everyday styles, I have quite a few tutorials in the archives and on the Style Index page. Also, one of my favorite everyday styles did come from a movie tutorial, the Triple Twist bun.

      Blessings,
      Elizabeth

  12. It’s nice to hear from you again! So, what is this little something that you want to send? You have my email-right (if not, just leave a comment on my blog or something so I know)?

    That hairstyle is b.e.a.u.t.i.f.u.l! How did you do it? I love the dress too!

  13. Oh, I think a forum is an excellant idea! And that hairstyle you’re wearing – its beautiful! And the dress – I love the colour of blue and it looks just perfect on you.

  14. Hello Elisabeth!

    Sorry my comment is so long overdue… I really need to e-mail you and let you know about some of the things that are going on around here – I completely understand about busyness!! My life just went – well… wow! in the the last month or so. I’ll try to e-mail you soon… 🙂

    Your hair looks lovely! What did you wear the hair-do for? I love that dress too! 🙂

    I would like to hear/read about the lady too. 🙂

    I miss you – both in person and in blog/e-mail! 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    http://www.donotgrowweary.com/blog

  15. I just found your blog and can’t tell you how excited I am!!! 🙂 (Especially since I’m a fellow redhead;)
    Unfortunately I just had my hair cut and it turned out rather short. But I’m looking forward to growing it out again and trying your hair styles!

    Blessings,
    Mary Rose~

  16. Pingback: Curly Formal Updo « Rapunzel's Resource

  17. Hi Elizabeth! I was just wondering about the beautiful dress you were wearing in the above picture. Did you make it or did you buy it? If you bought it, where did you get it?
    Thanks for doing such great hairstyles for us all!

  18. Thank God first and you for such a great site I have long hair and needed some other way to style it I really do appreciate your videos and site May God bless you and the generations after you and those you help.

Leave a Reply

