Double Bun Updo: Both Video and Picture Intructions

John 12:3

“Then took Mary a pound of ointment of spikenard, very costly,
and anointed the feet of Jesus, and wiped His feet with her hair.”

Have you given that which cost you most and that which is most precious to you for the glory of Christ?

Finally a new tutorial!! I call this one the double-bun Edwardian-inspired updo. This style is super easy– In the video, I did it in three minutes. If your hair turns into Dr. Seuss-type squiggles when you wash it like mine, here’s a great way to use that texture to your advantage. And yes, this is my hair’s natural, freshly-washed texture. πŸ™‚

For those looking for a messy bun for super long hair, here’s what I use. Soft, puffy, and romantic–everything a good updo should be. If my hair curls more than it did today, I like to pull some little bits out around my ears and neck. Also, if your hair gives you headaches when it’s up, splitting the weight like this is very comfortable.


Wow, I talked way too fast during the intro! Sorry about that. In fact, the intro in general isn’t that great. 😦 ( I really didn’t want to do another take.)Β  For this video, we’re back in ye olde bathroom. I’ve figured out an angle were I can kind of see what I’m doing in the mirror. Yay!

For pictures-and-text instructions, click on the link. –>

(I’m not sure what’s wrong with the color–which setting on the camera I need to change or what.)

1. Part your hair and twist a section from the side. Pin it kind of towards the center-back. Repeat on the other side.


2. Gather a section from directly below the twists (and include the twists). You should have roughly half the volume of your hair in this section.


3. Next, with that section, you’re going to make a shell bun. Fold the section over your thumb and twist . . .


. . . And keep pulling/twisting until all the hair has been pulled into the twist.


4. Coil it into a bun and pin.


5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 with the remainder of your hair.


If your hair-do turns out a little crooked or one side is a little messy, just stick in a flower and pretend you meant for it to look that way. Remember, this it a low-stress, care-free look. Don’t worry about it or try to make too perfect.

33 thoughts on “Double Bun Updo: Both Video and Picture Intructions

  1. I love how simple this is! I’ve been looking for some great hair dos that are quick and easy…looking forward to trying this one out. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow!! Thank you so much for posting this – my hair is way too thin and short right now to even attempt something like that, but I was having trouble with the side twist for the Belle hairstyle, which I could do. Thanks for this tutorial – keep ’em coming!!!

  3. I really like how quick this style is! It’s nice to have another may to fix my hair in the car!
    In Christ,
    Hannah
    P.S Thank you for taking the time to do all the tutorials!

    • Exactly what I thought. I’m usually rushing out the door for church, helping my mom with 6 kids when I realize my hair isn’t fixed.

  4. That looks so simple but attractive. I think it would work really well with my hair, can’t wait to try it out. Thank you for the inspiration!

  5. Hello Elizabeth,

    I was wondering if you could do a Pride and Prejudice (1995 – Jennifer Ehle) hairstyle tutorial. I like her hairstyle where she has curly ringlets down the sides of her face, and then sort of like a curly pony tail in the back. πŸ™‚

    Could you do this in a deadline (by the 12th of February)? I am having a literary Birthday party then– Pride and Prejudice theme.

    ~Johanna
    http://www.texasskies.blogspot.com

  6. Yay! It’s great to see you online again πŸ™‚ this style will be perfect for my hair. It’s getting really long again. It’s down to my waist! (here come the headaches…)

  7. I m so happy about that new tutorial!
    I really missed your tutorials,
    its so nice that you are back πŸ™‚
    lovely hair do!

  8. I was wondering, what do you do with your hair at night? I need to do something with mine, or it’s a tangled, matted mess when I get up in the morning, and it takes forever to comb all the tangles out, let alone do a nice hairstyle (I usually just leave mine loose). I usually braid it, but that can leave it frizzy, especially if it was wet when I went to bed. Since I usually wash my hair in the evenings, that’s kind of a problem for me. I’ve done bandana waves the past few nights (using cloth from an old sheet, since I don’t have any bandanas!) and I like that better, but it was rather frizzy again this morning after going to bed with wet hair last night. Any idea/suggestions?

  9. Thanks for sharing this. The shell bun is still one of my favorites and it’s nice to see a more versatile style that incorporates it. I’ll have to try this tomorrow when my hair finally dries.

  10. I just tried this hairstyle, and I really love how comfortable yet pretty it is. I have very thick tail bone length hair, and this distributes the weight nicely I think. Thank you very much for posting!

  11. Wow, wow, and wow! I don’t ever try anything new with my hair, but perhaps I should! I really love this style! πŸ™‚ My hair is long enough to acutally do a lot with, but I just never do! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement! πŸ™‚

  12. I tried this right after I watched the video, and I LOVE IT!! ❀
    I usually never wear updos, but this one is so cute and easy to do. Thank you so much for the tutorial^^ It really is lovely to have a website for all us long-haired girls πŸ™‚

  13. I might actually be able to do this one by myself! My hair is so thick and long that it’s hard to do anything, but this looks doable! I’ll have to try it for dance class. πŸ˜‰

  14. Cute! Only, I have SUPER THICK THICK THICK hair, so I can’t really do that style. Do you think you have any ideas as to what other styles I can do with it? I have short bangs, and Asian, dark, THICK, hair that is just a little bit longer than my shoulders. I have been experimenting with rolls, for I do love that feminine style, but they are not easy for my hair! Your help is greatly appreciated!

    Blessings,
    Grace

  15. This is so beautiful! I’ve always wanted to do an Edwardian sort of style with my hair, and I must say this is one of the most graceful hairstyles I’ve seen in quite a while. Thank you!

  16. Pingback: A Double Bun Variation « Rapunzel's Resource

  17. Hi, I have been following your website awhile and love all the hairstyles. I was wondering if you would consider doing a hairstyle from the movie “Ever After” starring Drew Barrymore, Angelica Huston, and Dougray Scott (I don’t know if I spelled all the names right). They’re so pretty! Thank you so much for these hairstyles. I just saw one of your commentors tell you “Thank you,” and we rarely thank you for all the work that you do on this site–that AND all your other projects! Plus it was so wonderful to find a website backed by a Christian lady! Thanks thanks!

    “If You, Lord, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who could stand? But there is forgiveness with you, that you may be feared.” — Psalm 130:3-4

  18. Wow! That looks so medieval, with the blue flower and everything. I would add multiple smaller flowers in the nooks and crannies, though.

    • This style does a bunch of eras depending on how you accessorize it. I’ve used it for Edwardian and vintage, as well. The only thing it’s really not good for is Civil War.

Leave a Reply

