Not Hair Related: Piano Recital

Hi ladies!

Some of you have asked me what do I do other than hair– my life beyond the blog. One of my favorite things is piano! I just did a recital this week, and here’s what I played.

It’s Domenico Scarlatti’s Sonata in F minor. Born the same year as J.S. Bach and G.F. Handel, Scarlatti was an exceptional baroque composer and one of the fathers of solo keyboard music. Each of his over five hundred one-movement sonatas is a unique gem. This beautiful piece is one of my favorites, and I performed it at a recital in March 2011. For this recording, I played it on my 1991 Baldwin Hamilton 243 named Schroeder. If you don’t know Schroeder’s story, you can read it here.

I just wanted to share that with ya’ll. Have a terrific Thursday!

26 thoughts on “Not Hair Related: Piano Recital

  1. That was lovely, Elizabeth! Thank you so much for sharing. Schroeder performs very nicely too – what a gorgeous piano=)
    Do you mind my asking what are your favorite styles of music to play? And are you more of a sight reader or do you prefer to play by ear?

    It’s a pleasure to watch you play. Thanks again!

    Blessings,
    ~Kellie~

  2. That was beautiful!! This is the first time I’ve commented on your blog but I’ve been following it for awhile. I have a question, where did you get your hair clip that your wearing in the video? Its gorgeous! Wonderful playing I wish I could play like that!

  3. That was incredible! You must have received a very high rating 🙂 Have you had piano lessons? How long have you played?

  4. Amazing! That truly was a beautiful masterpiece – you play it so lovely. We have a piano in our house….a Wurlitzer full-size upright. While I love the piano, and admire classical music, I am not very cordinated doing left\right hand as fast and agressively.
    I know the first part of Piano Sonata No. 14 “Moonlight” by Beethoven, but it is easier for me, cause I do more right hand than left hand. My brothers, however, (12 and 8) are very talented with the piano, and 12 year old brother can play Piano Sonata No. 8 “Pathétique” by Beethoven, and my 8 year old brother is learning “Moonlight” right along with me. 🙂 Are you learning or are familiar with any of these pieces?

  5. Hello Elizabeth! I just found your website and I am really enjoying reading and learning about your different hairstyles.:) This is a very helpful resource to have! I really like how feminine they are.:) It’s so important to be styling ourselves in a way that brings honor and glory to God and not drawing attention to ourselves.

    The Lord bless you!

  6. I just came across your blog and I am so thrilled! I have been looking for months on how to do long hairstyles, but I haven’t been able to find much at all — at least not with as well put together tutorials as you have.
    I currently (sadly) don’t have long hair — yet. But that will change in a year or two. I tragically cut my mid-back length hair nearly 2 years ago to my chin. 0.0 Then when it was beginning to finally get longer again (last summer), I made the mistake of having lots of layers cut into my hair. A couple weeks ago I cut my hair even, so the layers are all nearly gone. So here I am, with barely shoulder length hair, still paying for the mistake I made nearly 2 years ago.
    Anyway, in those 2 years I’ve learned a lot about my hair. 🙂 I am taking much better care of it now then I was before, and I am very determined to grow it out. Seeing other girls with long, well kept hair is so encouraging and it makes it all worth the long wait for my hair to grow!
    By the way, you play the piano beautifully!
    ~Molly

  7. Your playing is amazing!!! I have played for seven years and someday I hope to play as well as you. I love your site,keep up the good work!! Because of His Amazing Grace, Jessica

  8. I’m acting in a movie and I’m not quite as old as the girl I am playing. Could you do hairstyles that make you look older? Thanks!!!

  9. That is just beautiful! I wish I could play the piano like that *sigh*
    You have a really nice blog, I love it!!! Congrats!

    TeeJay

  10. Hi Elizabeth . . . I was just wondering how long you have played the piano, and how long you practice every day. I would like to play as well as you do, and I’ve been playing for 4 1/2 years.

    • Hannah, I’ve been playing for about eleven years, but I was self-taught until two years ago. Before then, I had never played anything classical, but I now have a great teacher that has really encouraged me. When I recorded this video, I was practicing 8-10 hours a week. The most I’ve done was about 13 during summer 2010. At the moment, I’m averaging 5-ish.

Leave a Reply

