May Update from Elizabeth

Happy May, Ladies!!!  (I know I’m a few days late, but better late than never, right? 🙂 )

I hope you all had a great Easter.  For those of you who haven’t seen it, you can read my thoughts from last year here.  This year, I spent some time just thinking about the fact that this was my God Who gave His life for me.  You can hear a great song about that idea here.

I’ve received quite a few comments and e-mails asking when there will be a new tutorial, what’s happened to me, etc.  Let me assure you: I’m not dead, just my computer is– or as my southern daddy would say “day-yed.”  🙂  The computer that I do all my pictures on has developed this nasty habit of randomly shutting down every so often.  The internet isn’t really functional, but we have the system on life support so that we can write papers for school.  If you have written me or asked a question, I’ll try to respond when I can.  It’s just that at this stage of my life right now, blogging isn’t my top priority.  Real life has thrown more at me in the last few months than you can imagine.  The rest of this month is going to be so busy, I probably won’t be able to post again for several weeks.  So what does that mean for Rapunzel’s Resource?

  1. I have about a half-dozen new tutorials I want to write this summer– specifically some new updos, rope braid ideas, and some stuff from the first two Narnia movies.  There are also some styles that I would like to do videos for, as well.
  2. Some of you have requested some styles and I haven’t approved your requests.  This is because I have decided not to do Sci-Fi styles on Rapunzel’s Resource.  The reason I developed this site was to provide creative styling techniques for long-haired ladies for both modern life and historical re-enactment events.  And Sci-Fi styles are usually impossible without fake hair anyway.
  3. For other movie style requests, I’m working on how to implement a discussion-based movie hair style section on WordPress.  I hope this will allow those who want to be able to work together to figure out how those looks can be replicated.

So after school ends, and graduation and wedding season is over, I hope to have some new things ready for ya’ll.  See you then!

P.S.  I finally saw “Tangled”!  If you’d like to post your thoughts on the movie as a long-haired gal, that would be great.  🙂

16 thoughts on “May Update from Elizabeth

  1. I look forward to more tutorials! Good luck with school and everything.

    My thought about Tangled: Sigh, of course they *had* to chop off her hair at the end.

  2. So sorry to hear about your computer troubles. Technology is great when it works, but it can be a giant pain when it goes on the fritz. Prayers!

    My family rented “Rapunzel” (I refuse to call it “Tangled”) this past week and enjoyed it more than I thought we would. The only thing that creeped me out was what happens to Rapunzel’s hair when it’s cut. *Shudder* Don’t know why, exactly. I’ve written a full review on my blog, but in a nutshell, it was cleaner and more “classic Disney” than I expected. Bravo!

    God bless, and hope your computer troubles are short,
    ~”Wild Rose”~

  3. Ah, yes, computers–such a great tool, but oh the problems they bring with them! I love your tutorials, and would be thrilled to see more of them, but I quite understand sometimes blogging simply can’t happen because of the more important things.

    I saw Tangled only recently too, and setting aside the story line (which I had some concerns about) it was a visual treat. The animation was beautiful, and of course Rapunzel was lovely. I have always wondered what a film company would do with the Rapunzel story. Of course, for the art of cinema things like reality are often brushed over. Her hair was beautiful, but it would have to be magic to be always so smooth and perfect. (Oh, wait…it was)

    Like Aamba, possibly my biggest disappointment was how they chopped off her hair at the end. Okay, so 70 feet of hair is not really practical, but why not hang onto at least 2? or 3 or 4 even? Or at the very, very, least, why could not her hair, once cut, loose its magic properties and revert to normal, so she could grow it out if she wanted to? If I had glorious long hair like that, and then stuck with having it six inches for the rest of my life…well, it wouldn’t exactly ruin my life but I would be very, very sad about it.

  4. I loved Tangled!!! Though I WAS sad her hair was cut at the end… storywise, I thought it was good, but she looked so much prettier with it long! I loved her braid she wore in the middle of the movie, especially with all the flowers in it. 🙂

  5. I am eagerly awaiting for more tutorials. 🙂 even though I can’t do any of them yet as my hair is only just past my shoulders.
    As for Tangled, as Aamba said, I was sad when they cut her hair off. I thought at least in the very end it would show her with long-ish brown hair.
    I also was grinning when she brushed her hair from the top of her head to the ends of her hair — can you imagine the tangles there would be? 😀
    Anyway, I shall watch for your next post. 🙂

    ~Molly

  6. I’m glad everything is going so well for you in “real life,” Elizabeth! 🙂 Your picture is adorable!

    I look forward to checking out the forum when you get it up and running – what a great idea!

    Have a wonderful day!

    Love in Christ,
    Vicki

  7. I’m a long-time Disney fan and, gotta say, Rapunzel is the gutsiest princess ever! Well, since Nala, but her hair isn’t exactly imitable, now, is it? Ooh! Speaking of Disney princesses… how in the world does one get hair to stay even a LITTLE bit like Jasmine’s??

  8. I’m looking forward to when you can post again more often, Elizabeth! I miss your posts. I hope your computer problems get fixed soon. 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  9. “For I know the plans that I Have for you. declares the Lord. Plans to prosper, and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

