I’m Engaged!!!

“God’s gifts put man’s best dreams to shame.” — Elizabeth Barrett Browning.

Wonderful Wednesday, everybody!  So this is why I haven’t been posting much lately.  😉

To make a long story short, Samuel and I met when he came down to attend the Bible college at my church.  We started courting about this time last year, and he graduated this past spring.  On Friday after a performance of Handel’s Messiah, he asked me to marry him, and I said yes.

We went together to pick out a ring on Saturday, and we ended up designing it custom.  Here is a close-up.

I’m so happy!!!  The LORD has blessed me greatly beyond my wildest dreams with a man who is so godly, loving, and strong.  Lord willing, we’re hoping to get married this fall.

Merry Christmas!!!

Thanks to my sister Melissa (quiltinghoneybee.wordpress.com) for helping me with pictures!

60 thoughts on “I’m Engaged!!!

  1. Oh, Elizabeth! It’s so good to hear from you at last, and this is such a wonderful surprise! I pray that you will continue to be blessed beyond your wildest dreams as you both follow the path God has for your lives. I am so happy for you!

    Much love in Christ,
    –Kellie

    • Dear Elizabeth!
      I am so happy for you!
      You two make a lovely couple and I hope your marriage will be as happy as mine! I was really very young when I married (19)
      but I have not regretted it! It makes you feel very secure and it is
      good to know that you are living with god’s belessings soon!
      You sure have a very tall fiancee to protect you 😉
      The best wishes for you two, thank you for the pretty pictures!
      Louisa

      • Thank you Louisa! My mom married young as well, but I will say I’m older than I look. I haven’t been a teenager for several years. 🙂

  2. Wow!! I am SO happy for you!! What a huge blessing! And a huge surprise to your readers, I’m sure. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll be doing your hair for the wedding, no? 😉

    Alexxus

  3. Congratulations! I’m so very happy for you both! . . . . . How wonderful to have finally found your soul mate! What a beautiful time of year to promise yourselves to one another! I pray that God will hold you and Samuel together close to His heart, blessing you abundantly as you continue down the path of life together in the many years to come. I also pray that you will have a very Merry Christmas filled with love, joy, and peace.
    Grace and Peace,
    Mary

  4. Congratulations Elizabeth, I’m so happy for you. I remember getting engaged over 42 years ago myself. So exciting! I pray you will be as happy as my Tom and I are.

    Sure miss your hair posts, do you think you will do more again? I hope so. I share the website with lots of ladies and girls.
    Blessings, Janet W.

  5. Wow!! (: CONGRATULATIONS!! I am so happy for you!! (: I pray that you will be blessed with a long, happy and blessed life with the man you love !! (:
    (:
    blessings~Naomi

  6. Congratulations Elizabeth, I have really enjoyed reading your blog, and am sooooo blessed to know yet again that the long waits are NOT in vain! May Jesus bless you and your husband-to-be.

  7. Oh Elizabeth, I’m so happy for you!! Congratulations! The Lord is so faithful and so amazing!

    God’s richest blessings,
    Annie

  8. Congratulations. BTW, ya’ll remind me of my sister and brother in law. So I want to warn you be prepared for your kids to be taller then you by the time they are 8. You think I am joking – my 12 year old niece is 5-9; her mom is 5-2.)
    It is very interesting to watch her scold her daughter
    But congratulations again – I hope you will be very happy.

  9. Oh my goodness! Congratulations!! That is so wonderful.

    Like some of the other readers mentioned, I would love to see the hairstyle you do for your wedding! 😀

  10. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I pray you enjoy your engagement and have a wonderfully blessed marriage! I too hold my breath to see how you style your hair for your big day!! : )

    I share your website with all new reenacting (Civil War) ladies and some that have been reenacting longer than I have. THANK YOU for sharing with all of us!
    God’s blessings on you both!
    Amy

  11. Congratulations, Elizabeth! I haven’t commented on your blog before, but I (as another long-haired gal) I have visited your blog many times!

    I became engaged recently too… its such an exciting time in life! God is so good! May He bless you and Samuel as you serve Him together!

    In Christ,
    Rachel

  12. Congratulations, Elizabeth! I’m so happy for you! I’ve been visting your blog for about two years, but just haven’t left a comment. God bless you both!

    ~Rachel
    P.S.
    I am NOT the same Rachel as above. 🙂

  13. Oh my word!!! Congratulations! I just recently started fallowing your blog and was wondering why there weren’t many posts 🙂 haha! Even though I don’t even know you I feel soooo excited for you and your new fiancé and will be praying for you both 🙂 Wow! You are with out a doubt going to have some amazing beautiful hairstyle for your wedding that I already can’t wait to see 😉

    God Bless,
    Summer

  14. Oh, congratulations!!! I haven’t commented before this, but I’ve been a fan of your site for a long time, and I’m so excited for you!!
    God bless you and him as you both go down this new turn in your life!!!

  15. Oh wow, congratulations! You make such a cute couple. 🙂 May God bless your engagement and your marriage.
    And yes.. I can’t wait to see the wedding hairstyle, either!!
    God bless you both!!

  16. What a happy Christmas surprise! I wish you two the happiest of lives together, with all your wishes granted and a smile for every day together! Let us know what we, your readers, can do to help!

  17. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you and GOD Bless you both!!!!!!!
    I hope to see what your hair will be like for your wedding! I’m sure it will be wonderful!

    Many praryers and blessings!
    Virginia

  18. Many many happy congradulations!!!!!! I am so happy for you!! I’ve really enjoyed your blog and I am working on doing all your hairstyles!! I hope you have a wonderful life full of love, laughter, and trials to learn from! May God bless you and your future husband!

  19. Congratulations!!! My Husband and I recently got married (Oct.15) of this year, and when you think back on things it will seem like it went by so fast!! And we recently discovered that I’m expecting… So write every single experience down!!!! You’ll enjoy reading it later! God Bless!!

  20. Congratulations! How exciting! May the Lord richly bless you in the days ahead!

    In Christ alone,
    Taylor

    P.S. I just found your site and have really enjoyed trying the different styles…I love the bandana waves! 🙂

  21. Wow, congratulations! I have visited your site before, but have never left a comment till now. You are very blessed!! He’s so tall!!! 😉 God bless you and your new life!!!!!!!!

  22. I’ve been so busy the past month or so that I haven’t been checking your blog, but I had to leave a comment with my best wishes for your future happiness. 🙂

  23. I join the other girls in congratulating you for this blessing event in your life. I want to make a commentary about a more superficial thing: I like the ring. It really gives an impression of authenticity, it looks like a renaissance or XIXème design. Very gracious. And I suppose I should’nt be ashamed about focusing on a material thing when material happens to be the reflect of interior life. A ring looking like your style.

    • Thank you for your comment about my ring! In my general acquaintance, five other couples also got engaged that week, and my ring was not the flashiest of the group. Most peoples’ comments were something like “Oh, it fits your tiny hand” meaning “Oh, it’s tiny.” It was exactly what I wanted, however. The colors remind me of a sunny day with puffy clouds, and the setting doesn’t scratch. I hadn’t really considered it’s historicity, but I’ll have to look into that 🙂

      PS I fixed your user name.

      • Thank you very much for the name!
        It’s a difficult point to choose the ring of your life. I’m often thinking about what kind I would really like. Pride can push you to a bigger stone than the neighbour… Shame on me but it’s true, even I am tempted sometimes. By the way, unlike you, little stones are not flattering the shape of my hands.
        But I’m not Elisabeth Taylor and will never own amazing rocks. And I don’t aim at spending a lot on a jewel I could lose while shopping (my mother lost her alliance in the salads at the market).
        Thus, I wish I could purchase an amazingly authentical ring like yours. Perhaps will I make the design and have it made by an artisan.
        Is showing off the point of the engagemenent ring? Nobody thinks so but everybody acts this way (just look desperate housewives or your girlfriends at Church…).
        Your ring is filled with more grace and subtlety than the big solitary every fashionable woman would purchase. In addition, as you described with your impression of sunny day, it wears sense to you. A big diamond just say: “I’ve got money and the same taste as 80% people”.
        To sum-up: I like your style!

  24. Hi, again I was reading the comments above and I can so understand that feeling that people make it seem like the size is what matters. However since I was little and read the Anne of Green Gables books when she got engaged she had a pearl ring because it fit who she was. That is idea I have tried to keep in mind since then with things like that. Your ring fits who you are and that makes it extra beautiful.

  25. Congratulations! When you have time, will you write out a whole story about how you met? WHEN you have time!

    Blessings,
    Esther
    (joyful-maiden.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

