Hair Styles of 2011

To recap 2011, here are a few of my favorite styles from the past year.

French Twist (for long hair) with a Flexi-Eight.

Fan Bun for my friend Jordan.

These photos are from the big re-enactment this fall.

Doing the hair train.  🙂

A figure-eight braid.  I haven’t written a tutorial for this one yet.

Horse shoe braid for Miss H.  Basically, start with Luanna Braids, cross the braids, and hide the ends under the other braid.

I did another version of my Civil War Ball style.  This is the only picture I have of the back!  It’s is pretty much the same as the tutorial version except with less flowers.

Then I went to a masquerade formal.

I did my 18th Century Style with a rose on one side . . .

and a butterfly on the other.  I had the hardest time making those ringlets look decent!  They did not set well at all so I ended up folding them in half and hiding the ends under that big rose.

Happy New Year!  May the Lord bless you with His love and grace in this new year.

20 thoughts on “Hair Styles of 2011

  1. So when do we get a tutorial for that lovely figure-8 braid? No rush – sure you’re quite busy! Happy New Year and many blessings to you!

  2. Goodness, I wish my hair would grow that long so I could try some of those styles … that figure-eight bun is simply spectacular!

    It’s fun to see the pictures of you and your fiancé together – I think you’ve shown us other pictures from some of these events that just had you in them, and now I feel like we’re seeing the other half of the story. 🙂 You must be so happy. Congratulations again!

    Love in Christ,
    Vicki

  3. I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your blog! The hair tutorials are wonderful, and I have had fun trying out the new styles. Congratulations on your engagement!

    In Christ,
    Jen

  4. Oh goodness, I love that last picture. 😀
    And I agree with what others have said… The figure eight bun is fantastic!

  5. I just spent my entire shift at work combing through your blog – you have extreme talent!

    A couple things…

    1. Would you PLEASE do more Elizabeth Swann (from Pirates of the Caribbean) tutorials?

    2. Have you ever considered creating a youtube channel and making vids? It’s SOOOO much easier to subscribe to youtube channels than to WordPress (unfortunately!)

    3. You look a lot like a makeupless – Deborah Ann Woll (Jessica Hamby from True Blood) but without all the makeup 🙂

    Keep up the beautiful work!

  6. The Lilla Rose clips look really nice and I think they are the greatest clips! They are easy to work, etc. Thankfully, my sister Shiloh (www.freefromwheat.com) sells them! (www.lillarose.biz/shilohariel.com) So therefore, my sister and mom are well stocked with them!

    I have been trying many of your hairstlyes and am truly shocked at how easy but lovely they are! My mom loves them too, and I’m going to start doing them to my sister!

    Thank you for making this possible! You are truly talented with this sort of thing! :D:D:D

    ~Miss Eden S

  7. Dear Elizabeth,
    I love your website! It has, along with your lovely sewing website, given me so much inspiration! I know that you must be busy with your wedding coming up, but if you have time to answer a couple questions I have, that would be great! I’ve been reading about your gorgeous sapphire twirl dress on your sewing website; I am interested in making something rather similar for a formal event coming up. I was wondering if you would share with me your method of making the ruffle, I couldn’t quite figure out how you did it, but I think it was beautiful and would be the perfect finishing touch for the formal dress I plan to make. I would so appreciate any help you can give me on that, but if not, thank you anyway for the inspiration that your dress has already given me. God Bless You!

  8. Oh, I love it; historic costumes and fancy hair styles! I am always looking for new ways to do my long har! I will for sure be returning again soon!

    Blessings,
    Amber

  9. I just love all the beautiful hair styles and dresses. I’m trying to grow my hair out long enough for some of those gorgeous Victorian hair styles:)
    Congratulations on your engagment and best wishes for your future!
    In Christ,
    Moriah

Leave a Reply

